Pumpkin Cream Pie

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Still haven’t managed to come down from the “I just met Ree Drummond” high from last week so I thought I’d share one of my favorite PW Thanksgiving treats.  You see, Ree isn’t a big fan of pumpkin pie…but this…yes…this she can get on board with.  After one taste you will know why.  And I’d be willing to bet, pumpkin pie lover or not, you’ll be on board too.  I’ve made it with and without the booze and it’s delicious both ways but I will admit, if I had to choose, I’d make it with the whiskey every time.

Pioneer Woman’s Pumpkin Cream Pie

Crust:

15 whole, large rectangle graham crackers

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, melted

Filling:

3 oz. box cook and serve vanilla pudding mix

1 cup half and half

1/2 cup heavy cream

a pinch each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cloves (I interpret this as 2-4 hefty shakes)

2 Tbls. whiskey (optional)

1/2 cup plus 3 Tbls pumpkin puree

1/2 cup heavy cream (yes, again…read on)

2 Tbls brown sugar

extra graham cracker crumbs for garnish if desired (I always forget to do this)

First off, I must admit that I usually just buy a graham cracker crust for this pie but this time I made my own for authenticity’s sake…and because I had everything I needed on hand…and besides making the bottom of my crust a little too thick, it was heavenly.  Definitely gonna be making my own graham cracker crusts from here on out.

Ok so first thing’s first, break your graham crackers up a bit and toss them in the food processor (or throw them in a ziplock bag if you don’t have a food processor and crush them that way) and grind them up until they are a pretty fine crumb.  You may have to stop a few times and jiggle the bowl or stir a little bit to push bigger chunks down to get pulverized.

Pumpkin Cream Pie

This is the consistency you’re going for…

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Next, add the powdered sugar and butter and give it another whirl to combine.

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Beautiful.  Dump into a pie plate and press into the bottom and up the sides.  PW used a measuring cup so, naturally, I did too.  Be careful that your crust isn’t too thick on the bottom.  I didn’t keep a close enough eye on this and ended up with some really thick spots.  Wasn’t bad, it was just a little overwhelming as far as a crust to filling ratio goes.

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Bake for 8-10 minutes at 300 degrees.  Set the crust aside to cool while you make the filling.  Start by throwing the pudding mix, half and half, cream, and spices in a saucepan and cooking, stirring constantly, until it thickens.

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Remove from heat, add whiskey (optional), and fold in pumpkin puree.  Cover and set aside to cool for a bit then refrigerate, still covered, until cooled completely.  I popped mine in the fridge for several hours but you probably don’t need to leave it that long.Pumpkin Cream Pie

When it’s nice and chilled, you’re ready to whip up (literally) the last step.  Beat additional cream and brown sugar until light and fluffy (and semi-stiff).  It goes from this…

Pumpkin Cream Pie

…to this after several minutes.  A stand mixer is ideal, but certainly not necessary.  If you are using a hand mixer, bring your patience. 😉

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Gently fold what’s left of this mixture (you stopped and tasted it didn’t you? Please say yes. It’s divine!) into the pumpkin mixture that is now all nice and chilled.  Pumpkin Cream Pie

Spread into prepared crust and chill for several hours or overnight before serving.  Garnish with additional graham cracker crumbs, if desired/if you remember. 😉

Pumpkin Cream Pie

Such an amazing alternative to the traditional pumpkin pie.  It’s especially great for our family since it’s egg and nut-free!  Love that!

What pies will you and your family be whipping up for Thanksgiving this year?

One thought on “Pumpkin Cream Pie

  1. Pingback: 2013 Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a comment