Autumnal Popcorn Platter

autumnal popcorn platter

Hello friends! This fall is flying by and I would be remiss if I didn’t share this quick and easy popcorn recipe. Ever since I made Lauren’s caramel corn last year, I’ve loved the idea of making gourmet popcorn at home for a fraction of the cost. I found a recipe for “Red Hot Popcorn” at tasteandtellblog.com and I concocted this idea for a fall popcorn platter. Then I decided to call it an autumnal popcorn platter because I never have a chance to use the word autumnal and I like it. 🙂

Red Hots can be a bit much for me so I wasn’t sure if I’d like it, but the flavor is diluted in the cooking process and you’re left with a sweet cinnamon treat. Plus, it was REALLY easy to prepare which is always a bonus. Of course, I tested it out on my co-workers and  was a hit at school so I thought I’d pass it on to our Mommymentum friends.

red hots

Ingredients

– about 5 cups of popcorn (about a bag of microwave popcorn or a 1/2 cup of kernels in an air popper)

– 1/4 cup of water

– 1/2 cup of Red Hots

Directions

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat the oven to 250 degrees.

melting red hots

Combine the Red Hots and water in a sauce pan over medium high heat. Stir until the candy is totally melted.

wpid-20140923_200141.jpg

Spoon the mixture over the popcorn and toss it to coat. Place the popcorn on the parchment paper lined baking tray and bake for 20 minutes, stirring once at 10 minutes.

baking tray

I served this Red Hot popcorn next to Lauren’s caramel corn and some plain buttered popcorn to create this fall-colored tray. I think I’ll whip up a batch tonight to eat while I watch the Cardinals game. Go CARDS!

autumnal popcorn platter

 

2 thoughts on “Autumnal Popcorn Platter

  1. The red would be perfect for a Cards post season party! Looks easy enough. This week will be crazy, but I’ll definitely make it for the World Series! 😉 Thanks!

Leave a comment