Using Pixlr to Enhance Your Photos

Ever since Lauren and I started Gaining Mommymentum, I’ve become really interested in photo editing. It’s something I’ve never done much of (obviously) and I was a little overwhelmed by all the technology. But, I’ve learned that sometimes you just have to jump in and start trying. I’ve been experimenting with Pixlr to edit my blog and family photos. It’s very easy and user-friendly. A great jumping off point for beginning editors. In addition to my description of Pixlr, I have a little surprise at the end so keep reading!

www.pixlr.com

While Pixlr does have mobile apps, I often prefer to edit my photos on my laptop where I can get a better look at the details and lighting.  What I really like is that I can select the photo I want, edit it, and save it to my computer. I don’t have to do a lot of uploading or sign in to an account. The Pixlr website has 3 options:

pixlr options

Pixlr Editor is over my head for now. It looks similar to the Photoshop app I downloaded and couldn’t decipher. Some day I want  REALLY want to learn how to use these tools. It just requires time for reading and research and I’m short on that right now.

Pixlr Express gives you quick and limited options to enhance your photos. I really appreciate the limited options because adjusting contrast, brightness, saturation, etc. can become cumbersome. Pixlr Express has options for adjustment, effect, overlay, borders, stickers (so much fun!) and type.

You can click on any of the images below to see them larger.

5 Photo Favs

Sticker Fun!

pe adjustments

Adjustment: focus

Pixlr O-Matic is my favorite place to experiment with effects and overlays. There are many preset choices and you have the option to search for more. I like this because I’m not overwhelmed, but I’m also not limited. (Sounds like I want to have my cake and eat it too! But then again, if you have cake aren’t you supposed to eat it? Sorry, it’s easy to get me off track when cake is involved. )

Here is a screen shot of a photo I took with no editing.

pom none filter

Here is the same photo with various effects. As you scroll through the filmstrip on the bottom you are quickly able to see your photo processed through different effects.

pom dean

pom anne

pom tony

At the end of the filmstrip you have that “more” option I mentioned earlier.

more

Once you’ve selected your effect, you can add an overlay to jazz up your photo even more. I really love the twinkle one below. Sometimes you just need some fairy dust!

pom overlay twinkle

Twinkle

pom overlay streamers

Trails

pom overlay devine

Devine

Last, it’s time to finish with frames. There are several traditional borders along with some unexpected options.

pom border film

Film

pom border web

Webs

Once your photo is complete you can save it straight to your computer or you can create a link to share.

description

Enter a description of your photo

url

Get your link

url display

Copy and paste into your browser

After you’ve saved your picture to your computer, you could open it up again in Pixlr Express to add text or stickers. There are infinite possibilities!

Finally, I’d like to leave you with a little deal that arrived in my inbox this morning. From now until 11:59 p.m. on Saturday evening (11/23/13), you can get a FREE brag book from Walgreens photo. Use the code BRAGBOOK or click the image below. Excludes shipping and extra pages.

walgreens brag book

This would make a great stocking stuffer for a grandparent, spouse, or even a kiddo (if they are past that page-tearing phase!). I’ve got to get started on mine!

One thought on “Using Pixlr to Enhance Your Photos

  1. Pingback: Pixlr | Nikhil C. DCIM Blog

Leave a Reply

