Lakewood Apple Cake

This dessert/breakfast/anytime cake has history with me. I don’t know where my mom got the recipe, but I remember eating it in my younger years & when I went away to college, it was one of several recipes I knew I had to have with me. When I went to make it this year, I tried to look the recipe up on our site & realized I didn’t share it last year! How did I not share one of my very favorite apple recipes?! Gasp!

Let’s remedy that, shall we? Quick…before apple season is a mere memory.

This cake is super moist yummy (you know I can’t stand that word). And with its abundance of apples, it’s easy to convince yourself that it is appropriate for breakfast. Try it. It’s perfect. Or slap a scoop of ice cream on it & drizzle some caramel on top for dessert…drool.

Would you like the recipe? Yes? Well ok then.

Lakewood Apple Cake

2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder (not soda)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups sugar
1 cup canola oil
3 eggs (egg free: 3 Tbls baking powder, 3 Tbls water, & 3 Tbls vinegar mixed together then add to recipe)
1 tsp vanilla (I admittedly splash a little extra in….)
4 cups diced apples (about 6 medium apples)

Mix together all ingredients except apples. Once batter is well combined, fold in apples.

IMG_5317.JPG

I like to go a little over the 4 cups of apples…but that’s just me.

Spread batter in a 9×13 pan & bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes. When the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan, it’s done!

IMG_5318.JPG

Now you just have to decide if you’ll eat it straight up or a la mode…the choice is yours!

IMG_5339.JPG

4 thoughts on “Lakewood Apple Cake

  1. I remember this recipe from my childhood too! A beloved favorite when I was growing up. Lost track of the directions a while ago and have been searching for it on the internet… usually it comes up as not found!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing!!

  2. Are you originally from Ohio, by chance? I grew up in Northeast Ohio and our family of 10 ate a lot of this cake in the 70s. I still have the recipe in my mom’s handwriting. I’ve always been curious as to the origin of the recipe- there is a Lakewood just outside of Cleveland.

Leave a Reply

