Salted Caramel Chocolate Dump Cake

Ok, I’ll admit it. I’m on a dessert kick. I have hardly cooked since Cali was born (literally…I’ve cooked dinner twice in the past 10 weeks…freezer meals rock!) and there hasn’t been much time for fun DIY projects, so I’ve turned to baking ridiculous desserts instead. Lucky you. πŸ˜‰

When I spotted this recipe for a salted caramel chocolate dump cake on Pinterest, I was intrigued & confused at the same time. Dump cakes are known for their ease & short ingredient lists…I wasn’t sure how that was gonna work with salted caramel & chocolate…but it did. Oh mama it did.

Speaking of mamas…I also found this one just in time for celebrating my mom’s birthday last month. I felt like it had her name written all over it so I made it for her too. That’s right folks, this cake is so good, I made it twice in one weekend AND celebrated my mom’s birthday with it. Boom. Let’s bake.

Salted Caramel Chocolate Dump Cake
(From Girl Versus Dough)

3.9 oz instant chocolate pudding mix
1 1/2 cups cold milk
1 box devil’s food cake mix (I used this the first time & a dark chocolate cake mix for my mama’s)
1 1/2 cups chopped caramels or 1 bag Kraft caramel bits (the caramel bits will save you time AND get you caramel spread more evenly)
Coarse sea salt for sprinkling
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Vanilla ice cream (for serving)

Whisk milk into pudding mix for one minute. Add to this the cake mix & stir until combined. Spread mixture into a greased 9×13 pan.

IMG_5463.JPG

Top with chopped caramels…

IMG_5464.JPG

…or caramel bits…(told ya I made it twice in one weekend…lol)

IMG_5482.JPG

…and sprinkle with sea salt (a little goes a long way!) Then bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees or until the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan & a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_5465.JPG

Melt chocolate chips in the microwave for about 2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds, and stopping when chocolate is smooth. Drizzle over cake & let sit to harden.

IMG_5466.JPG

Serve it up with a big ole scoop of vanilla ice cream & enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Chocolate Dump Cake

Leave a Reply

