Easy Weeknight Polenta

I was looking for a quick & easy meal not long ago. You know the drill: it’s 4:30, nothing is thawed for dinner, & you’re not about to make a trip to the grocery store to pick up ingredients. Did I consider ordering pizza? You bet I did.

But then I remembered the roll of polenta I picked up on a whim at Trader Joe’s a while back. It had been hanging out in my pantry ever since, as I had never made polenta before & wasn’t really sure what to do with it.

I decided (after a little googling) that I could make this meal work. It was easy, full of flavor, and satisfying. Exactly what I was looking for in a weeknight dinner!

Easy Weeknight Polenta

1 roll precooked polenta
extra virgin olive oil
Italian seasoning
fresh ground pepper

Heat about 2 Tbls evoo over medium heat. Slice polenta 1/2″-1″ thick. When oil is heated, carefully place polenta slices into the pan. Sprinkle with Italian seasoning & pepper. Cook for 5 minutes.

IMG_5015.JPG

Flip polenta, season with Italian seasoning & pepper, & allow to cook an additional 5 minutes, or until golden brown.

IMG_5016.JPG

I served this easy polenta over angel hair pasta tossed with butter, parmesan cheese, bread crumbs, & pepper & topped it all off with a little marinara.

IMG_5017.JPG

It was delicious! I can’t wait to make it again…perhaps with a different twist next time!

How do you cook your polenta??

Leave a Reply

