Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

You bet I’m breaking out the crock pot again! Luckily, the heat has been pretty tolerable in St. Louis this summer (I mean, it’s July 30th & I have my house opened up & ac off for the third day in a row…that NEVER happens!) but that doesn’t mean I don’t still love the convenience of the crock pot.

Take these chicken tacos for example. My son asked for tacos for his birthday party dinner so I needed to figure out a way to get tacos made in mass quantities easily. I knew I wanted beef & chicken so guests would have a choice. The beef tacos I just whipped up on the stove…all 6+ lbs of them! (There’s a bunch of that in the freezer now for easy meals once baby is here!) The chicken came together in the crock pot with such ease!

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

3 lb bag of frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 packets of taco seasoning (or 1-2 full recipes of Mandy’s low sodium taco seasoning, depending on your seasoning preference)
1 large (24oz) jar salsa (I used mild but feel free to spice things up if you’d like!)

Dump frozen chicken into the crock pot.

20140730-140505-50705606.jpg

Sprinkle seasoning over frozen chicken.

20140730-140540-50740696.jpg

Pour salsa over chicken. (Seriously, don’t hurt yourself over this.) I also put about 1/4 cup of water in the “empty” salsa jar, gave it a shake with the lid on, & poured this in the crock pot. A little extra liquid never hurt & I hated to see a single drop of salsa go to waste. 😉

20140730-140630-50790706.jpg

Cook on low for 6 hours. Grab 2 forks & try to shred chicken. It should shred super easily! If not, let it continue cooking a bit longer & try again. Mine was ready to rock & roll after 6 hours so I made quick work of shredding it up. Serve with your favorite tortillas & toppings & you’re good to go! I froze a bunch in portions to feed 3-6 people depending on whether I wanted to get 1 or 2 meals out of a bag. I know I will be super excited to have all these easy meals in about a month!

One thought on “Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

  1. Pingback: Stocking the Food Allergy Freezer | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

