Taj Mahal Chicken

taj mahal chicken

I mentioned a couple weeks ago that I was starting the Whole 30 nutrition plan with Daddysaurus and my bestie. It’s going really well. I’m not gonna lie, I really miss bread…a lot… every day. But I have so much energy it’s worth the sacrifice. We are on Day 16 and I  know we are going to make it!

Part of the challenge is finding recipes that meet the Whole 30 requirements and are delicious. Luckily, my BFF came across a blog, The Clothes Make the Girl, with grocery lists and recipes ready to go. The blogger, Melissa, has written 2 cookbooks and I can see why. Everything we’ve prepared so far is yummy and….wait for it….healthy! One of our favorite recipes is her Taj Mahal Turkey Curry. I used chicken instead of turkey. While this recipe is super simple to make it does require some easy prep work. The evening before cooking the actual dish, I lined a baking sheet with parchment paper, seasoned a package of 6-7 chicken thighs with salt, pepper and garlic. Then I sliced two small spaghetti squash in half, scooped out the seeds and placed them face down on another baking tray. I added a couple tablespoons of water to the squash tray. Both trays in the oven baked at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.  I let the chicken cool and put it in the fridge. Using a fork, I scraped the spaghetti squash into a bowl and added it to the fridge.  Easy.

Now for the good stuff!

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 large onion, diced
1 large red bell pepper, diced
1 large bay leaf
salt and pepper, to taste
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 tablespoons curry powder
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1-2 pounds cooked chicken, diced
1/3 cup raisins
1 can (14.5 oz) crushed or diced tomatoes
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 cup coconut milk
cooked spaghetti squash

Optional garnish: crushed almonds

First, heat the coconut oil in a pan. Then saute the onion and pepper for about 6 minutes.

garlic and pepper

Add the garlic and allow it infuse for about 45 seconds.

garlic

Next add the seasonings and the tomato paste. Work the tomato paste and seasonings until the veggies are thoroughly coated. Let it cook for about 4 minutes.

seasonings and tomato paste

mixture

Mix in the chicken, raisins, tomatoes and applesauce.

additional ingredients

Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer.  Cook for 25 minutes. Add the coconut milk and cook for an additional 5 minutes. At the same time, warm up your spaghetti squash.

coconut milk

Serve with spaghetti squash and almonds.

final meal

 voila!

I will admit that originally I thought this dish was a bit out of our comfort zone.  I’m not familiar with curry and didn’t think we’d be able to find all the ingredients. But we’ve made it twice and found everything we needed at Shop N Save one week and Wal-Mart the next. It has a delightful unexpected sweetness and you get a big dose of veggies with the spaghetti squash. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

 

2 thoughts on “Taj Mahal Chicken

Leave a Reply

