Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups

Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times (I think I’ve even said that line a few times on this blog…oh well) I’m ALWAYS looking for new dinner ideas that my family will love. Pinterest is often a great place to hunt for inspiration but lately I find that I just don’t have the time to sit on my Pinterest app for ages browsing recipes to try to weed out ones that sound great from ones that just sound ok…and then there’s the “will my family (read: Buddy) eat this issue…then the CAN Buddy eat this issue…followed by the “what insane ingredients are in this that I will never be able to afford/find/whatever?” Oye. Let’s just say I’ve been lacking in the inspiration department lately. Except for this. Oh and this. Those were both awesome dishes…and great together too!

Anyway, leave it to my friend Laurie over at Passionate Penny Pincher (I know you’ve seen that name on here a few times before) to take the guess work out of finding a hearty, delicious, family-pleasing meal. She made a great point in her post about these delicious Chicken Alfredo Lasagna Roll-Ups about needing to take the time to read the comments on recipes found on Pinterest. That alone can help you weed out some of the ones to pass, but again, it takes time. Laurie’s taste in food (and her family’s too) seems to match up well with what my family likes to eat so I tend to trust her judgement…if she says something is good…it is definitely worth trying!

I lucked out the night I decided to make this and realized I had (almost) everything I needed in my fridge & pantry. The only thing I was missing was the heavy cream/half & half. I made a couple little modifications to the recipe and was able to get away with using skim milk. You would not BELIEVE how good this was and I even felt good about saving a BUNCH of calories by using skim milk…even if it did mean using a tad bit more cream cheese (you could always use the 1/3 less fat variety!)

Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups (adapted from Passionate Penny Pincher who adapted from mmmm…Cafe)

For the alfredo sauce (or you could always sub in a jar of sauce to save yourself some time but this recipe is awesome!)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

4 oz cream cheese, cubed

2 cups milk

2 tsp garlic powder (I didn’t measure this…just dumped some in)

1/2 tsp minced garlic (1 clove minced)

salt & pepper

2/3-1 cup parmesan cheese (start with 2/3 and add more if you need to thicken it up a bit more)

For the roll-ups

12 lasagna noodles, cooked according to package instructions

1 recipe alfredo sauce (above)

4 cooked chicken breasts, shredded (I threw frozen chicken breasts in the oven during nap time and cooked them at 375 for about 45-50 minutes, until done, then shredded them while the sauce was cooking.)

2-3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Prepare sauce by melting butter, adding minced garlic and cooking for about 30 seconds. Add cream cheese and whisk until melted and smooth. Add milk, garlic powder, salt, and pepper (I actually skipped the salt) and bring to a gentle simmer for 15 minutes, stirring frequently so it doesn’t scorch. This will start the thickening process but you’ll need to remove it from the heat and add the parmesan cheese to reallysee it thicken up. Start with 2/3 cup cheese and allow it to sit for a few minutes while you get everything else ready to see if it needs more cheese to thicken it up a little more.

Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups

Once your sauce, chicken, and noodles are prepared and ready to go, you’re ready to assemble your roll-ups.

 Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups

Spread a thin layer of alfredo sauce in the bottom of a baking dish. Lay out a lasagna noodle and spoon just enough sauce onto the side facing up to spread a thin layer across the entire surface, about 2 Tbls. Sprinkle some chicken down the entire noodle, then some cheese. Roll it all up and place in prepared baking dish (I fit 6 of these easily in an 8×8 glass dish and stuck my other 6 in an oval ceramic dish. If you wanted to make them all at once they should fit fine in a 9×13.) Top with remaining sauce and shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes. If yours doesn’t get much color on top (like mine) you might choose to turn on your broiler for just a minute or two if that’s the look/texture you’re going for.

Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups

We were in a hurry to get to swim lessons the night I made this so I didn’t have time for the broiler on this pan but I popped the other pan in the freezer to save for a later date (love doing that!) and will definitely give it the extra blast of heat at the end if needed.

These were SUCH a big hit at our house that we couldn’t wait to eat them again for dinner the next night…so we had them for lunch instead. All Buddy’s idea…and our tummies thanked him for it. 😉

 

 

One thought on “Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups

  1. Pingback: Stocking the Food Allergy Freezer | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

