Strawberry Popsicles 5 Ways

strawberry popsicles 5 ways

As we prepare for our upcoming beach vacay I was combing the internet for some ideas about how to prevent…..bloating. Gross, I know. I never really had a problem with it until I had kids. But now I do and when I’m strolling down the beach in a swimsuit I don’t want to feel like an inner tube is around my middle (unless,of course, it is). I came across a recipe known as a “skinny shake.” It seemed pretty easy- just strawberries, pomegranate juice and lemon juice. No weird ingredients or chemicals.  I thought I’d try it since I’ve had berries on the brain since reading Lauren’s berry compote recipe. As I sat down to sip my kids starting hovering around me like moths to a flame. I gave them a taste and they loved it. I started thinking about how I could prepare it ahead of time and have it ready for a quick snack. Then it hit me- popsicles! So far I’ve come up with 5 ways to rock this frozen treat. Some are more traditional and some are a little outside the box, but they are a great way of having a healthy snack ready or using up a container of strawberries before you go on vacation. I’ve also made it using blueberries. I liked it just fine, but my kids definitely preferred the strawberries.

Recipe

1 cup ice

1 cup strawberries (fresh or frozen)

1/2 cup pomegranate juice

a squirt of lemon juice

Mix in a blender until smooth.

prepare in blender

1. Silicone Pop Makers

pop maker

A friend recommended these to me and I’ve been happy with all the uses I’ve found for them. In addition to make popsicles, I’ve made my own yogurt pops. The Bear really likes these.

2. Sipper Popsicle Mold

Popsicle mold

I love the straws at the bottom that allow for slurping of the juice as it melts.

3. Mason Jar

mason jar

I froze a smoothie in a mason jar and took it outside with me on a hot day. I brought a spoon, but as it melted I was able to drink it. It was refreshing and cold. A delicious way to enjoy this treat on a hot summer afternoon.

4. Watered down for Toddlers

juice

Baybay can’t quick swing a straw or a spoon very effectively. While I love to let her try and play with the popsicles, I’ve also found that pouring half a cup of water and half a cup of the smoothie is a nice summer treat for her that she can enjoy from a sippy cup.

5. Smoothie

smoothie

This is the initial way I made the smoothie. I like making it in the morning and leaving it in the fridge all day. Even though it turns into a juice as the ice melts, it’s still refreshing. And if you’re wondering, it definitely helps with bloating. 😉

Do you have a summer treat your family loves? I’d love to hear about it the comment section.

Leave a Reply

