Berry Compote

A couple weeks back I promised you a berry recipe when I told you about the best places to pick your own berries in the St. Louis area…and then life happened. I apologize for the quiet couple of weeks. You know how it goes. I’m hoping to keep up this summer but I may not post with quite the same frequency as I have in past months. I’ll be busy getting ready for baby #2, going back to work (even if it’s just part time & for a few weeks, it’s definitely not the daily routine I’ll be used to!), and of course, just enjoying the summer with my family!

But anyway, you’re here for the recipe. 🙂

Whenever I have an abundance of berries on hand (sometimes I get a little over-zealous when I find a sale…or when I’m in the fields picking) this is one of my very favorite ways to use up all those bite-sized, antioxidant-filled beauties. Berry compotes are quick and easy to make, you can mix and match just about any kind of berry depending on what you have on hand, and they can top just about anything…pancakes, waffles, ice cream, biscuits, pound cake, angel food cake, corn on the cob…ok maybe not corn on the cob. Just wanted to make sure you were paying attention. 😉

I apologize for the lack of pictures…I was whipping this up quickly over the weekend before we were to be somewhere and got sidetracked in my hurry to get breakfast on the table…and then we ate the entire batch. Oops.

Easy Berry Compote

2 cups any berries (fresh or frozen, chopped if large…as in strawberries or some blackberries)

1/3 c. sugar

2 Tbls water or lemon juice (I usually just use water but if I have a lemon on hand the juice from half of one is about perfect)

Easy Berry Compote

Chop berries if large (this time I was using blackberries and strawberries…terrific combo!) Toss into a pot with sugar and water or lemon juice and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Reduce heat and simmer for about 10 minutes, until fruit is very soft and creating a nice syrup. (If using blueberries, I like to reserve a small amount and toss them in at this point…the ones you cook the whole time will basically liquify and the ones you toss in towards the end will soften but still hold some shape and texture.) Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly before topping whatever your heart desires! Leftovers (which rarely happens at our house…no matter how big a batch I thought I made) can be refrigerated for about 3 days.

What would you top with this compote??

One thought on “Berry Compote

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Popsicles 5 Ways | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

