Sweet Potato Salad

Sweet Potato Salad | Gaining Mommymentum

I follow a lot of blogs. Between that and Pinterest, I constantly have a list a mile long of recipes I want to try. When my mom said we were having bbq for Mother’s Day dinner at her house this past weekend, I knew I finally had the perfect occasion to try out this new to me recipe I had seen on Two Peas and Their Pod recently. Maria and Josh are always posting unique and delicious recipes on their site…I have MANY of them saved on my Pinterest boards! If you’ve never checked out Two Peas you need to take a moment to do so now!

I only had to make one omission to make this recipe work with Buddy’s food allergies (I omitted black beans and added extra bell pepper due to his legume allergy.) You’ll notice this recipe is naturally gluten free AND free of the top 8 allergens…perfect for Food Allergy Awareness Week!

Sweet Potato Salad (adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod)

(As a side dish this feeds a crowd!)

8 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 3/4″ slices

olive oil, salt, and pepper, to taste

2 ears of sweet corn, roasted on the grill

1 red pepper, diced

1 orange pepper, diced

2-4 green onions, chopped

3/4 cup chopped cilantro

3 avocados, pit and skin removed, chopped

juice of 4 limes

Toss sweet potato slices on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (for easy clean up purposes), drizzle with olive oil, andsprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to coat evenly. Bake in a 400 degree oven for approximately 15-20 minutes or until soft when pierced with a fork. (Alternatively you can grill these like Maria does but I skipped that for simplicity’s sake.)

Sweet Potato Salad2

I did, however, have my husband toss a couple extra ears of corn on the grill while he was grilling corn and burgers the night before so I could have perfectly charred corn (doesn’t he do great work?!) to add to this delicious salad.

Sweet Potato Salad3

Cut it off the cob once it’s cooled and toss it in a bowl.

Sweet Potato Salad4

Next, rinse a couple peppers.

Sweet Potato Salad5

And give em a nice chop.

Sweet Potato Salad6

Toss them in the bowl with the corn…wouldn’t want the corn to get lonely.

Sweet Potato Salad7

Then grab a big ole handful of fresh cilantro. (And the green onions…I forgot to get a picture of those.)

Sweet Potato Salad8

Pull out any big stems and chop the rest really well. Have I ever told you how much I love cilantro? Not as much as my husband does, but I do.

Sweet Potato Salad9

Toss that cilantro in with the other veggies and give it a good toss. Mmmm…it’s a little bit of work to get everything chopped but it is SO worth it. And you can make this ahead of time (which is what I did) and serve it cold and it is AMAZING!)

Sweet Potato Salad10

Once my sweet potatoes were cooked and cooled enough to handle I chopped them up too and tossed them in with the juice of 3 limes. This all got popped in the fridge overnight to hang out.

Sweet Potato Salad11

Just before dinner the next day I did a quick chop on my avocados, squeezed on the juice of one last lime, gave it a toss, and voila…this AMAZINGLY delicious and healthy side dish was ready to go.

Sweet Potato Salad12

I have been asked to make it again already. No joke.

We ate the leftovers the next day with our dinner…it was so good I changed my meal plan at the last minute just so I could eat it again. Love, love, love this salad. Thanks Maria!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Make-Ahead Italian Beef | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: Chicken Alfredo Roll-Ups | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

