Smothered Chicken Pasta

Smothered Chicken Pasta

Last week I posted this recipe for cheesy bacon smothered chicken…which was a HUGE hit at our house. I teased on Facebook that there would be a follow-up post for that chicken (cause it is that good) and I really enjoyed turning our leftovers into a new dish that was an even bigger hit (if you can believe that.)

So what’s better than cheesy bacon smothered chicken? Smothered chicken PASTA! Yes siree. So good. It was very hard to restrain myself and only eat one helping (I was on the way out the door to yoga and didn’t want to upchuck during downward dog…lol) but I made sure I had it for lunch the next day. Couldn’t even wait for dinner. Nope. Buddy had it too…as did my Hubby. We were all looking forward to round two of this treat.

Allergen Note: This pasta dish and original chicken recipe are free of wheat/gluten, egg, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and shellfish. I provided the modifications necessary to make the smothered chicken dish dairy free in the original recipe. If you are looking for a dairy free version of this pasta dish I would HIGHLY recommend you check out my recipe for top 8 allergen free “alfredo” sauce (made from cauliflower…and it’s really really yummy…promise) as it would be a PERFECT substitute (with or without the extra bacon) for the butter and half & half laden sauce I used for this recipe.

Smothered Chicken Pasta

3-4 leftover cheesy bacon smothered chicken breasts

1/4 cup unsalted butter (1/2 a stick)

2 garlic cloves, minced (1 tsp of the pre-minced stuff)

12 oz (1 1/2 cups) half & half

3/4-1 cup grated parmesan cheese (start with 3/4 c but if your sauce is at all runny when you’re about to serve, you can add the additional 1/4 cup)

fresh ground pepper, to taste (I’m always a little heavy handed with the pepper)

8 oz. quinoa, corn, or brown rice penne pasta (These are all popular gluten free pasta varieties…I’ve found the quinoa/corn blend to be our family’s favorite. If you don’t need to be gluten free, you can use any pasta you like.)

Cook pasta according to package directions.

While pasta is cooking, melt butter over medium heat, add garlic, and cook for about a minute. Add half & half & cook for about 7 minutes, stirring frequently while it simmers.

Chop up leftover chicken breasts (no need to reheat…we’ll get to that in a minute.) Don’t worry if the topping falls off, just chop it up too and get it ready to drop in the sauce in just a minute.

Add cheese to sauce and stir to combine well. Add chicken and stir well. Allow to reheat with the sauce. Add pepper & more cheese if needed.

Drain and stir pasta into sauce & you’re ready to serve!

Smothered Chicken Pasta

I caught Buddy picking bacon out of the pasta to gobble up first…I think I’ve created a monster. 🙂 But the rest quickly followed and he would exclaim “I found more bacon!” every time he ate a bite with bacon he hadn’t yet picked out. Funny kid.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

