Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

I’m on a bacon kick. Please excuse me if bacon makes its way into the next several food posts. I blame it on the pregnancy cravings…ahem. But really, bacon makes just about everything better, am I right? Yes. Yes, I am.

Bacon. Mmmmm.

So I’ve been sneaking bacon into baked potato soup, grilled cheese sandwiches, salads…you name it. Monday afternoon, I had some chicken thawing and wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it. I kid you not, my meal plan for the day read “some kind of chicken, broccoli, and leftover cheesy hashbrown casserole.” Oye. But then I remembered I had bacon. And cheese. And suddenly, all was right with the world. This chicken was super easy and so so yummy. Be sure to stick it on your meal plan asap. (I even made some suggestions in the ingredients for dairy allergy subs.)

And when you do, make a note to cook extra…I’ll share what to do with those leftovers next week to create a totally new meal that is equally amazing!

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 2-2 1/2 lbs)

8 slices bacon

2 Tbls butter (Earth Balance buttery spread if you have a dairy allergy)

3 cloves garlic, minced (or 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic)

1 1/2 c cheese (I used a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella…use Daiya “cheeses” if you have a dairy allergy)

Dice up the bacon (I like to use kitchen shears to make quick work of this task,) toss it in a skillet over medium heat (cast iron if you have it,) and cook until crispy. Set aside on a paper towel to drain.

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

While bacon is cooking, slice your chicken breasts in half so that they are much thinner, more like a chicken cutlet. This will help speed up the cooking time for you. After you set the bacon aside, drain off the excess grease but do not wipe or wash out the pan. Add butter and garlic & cook for 30 seconds or so, just until fragrant. Pour off into a bowl and stir in bacon.

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

Add chicken to the pan and cook thoroughly, about 4 minutes per side depending on thickness. Season with salt and pepper if you like.

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

Top with bacon & garlic mixture.

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

Then go to town with the cheese. Don’t be shy.

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

If you are using cast iron, pop the whole skillet into a 350 degree oven for a few minutes until cheese is melted. If not using cast iron, turn off heat to that burner & cover with a lid until cheese is melted.

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

Whoa buddy.So so so so so so so good. So good. I can’t wait to show you what I turned the leftovers into the next night…but you’ll have to wait until next week for that. Sorry!! 😉

Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

One thought on “Cheesy Bacon Smothered Chicken

  1. Pingback: Smothered Chicken Pasta | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

