Top 8 Allergen Free “Alfredo” Pasta with Bacon

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

Oh lawdy. I done gone & done it this time. I pinned this recipe by Pinch of Yum for her creamy cauliflower sauce a couple weeks ago & have been thinking over the amount of garlic (8 cloves?!) and what to sub in for the butter without sacrificing any flavor. I like garlic, but I worried that was A LOT of garlic. I cut it way back (and I’m sure the ladies in my prenatal yoga class that night were thankful for that) as you’ll see below, but next time I think I’ll try not to be so shy.

I’ve been craving (and until last night successfully resisting) bacon lately so I thought this would be my chance to throw a little into a dish (everything is better with bacon, right? Right.) This not only fulfilled my craving but also solved my butter dilemma as I used a couple tablespoons of bacon drippings to replace the butter. A delicious choice if I do say so myself.

As for the cauliflower…well…haters back off. I am NOT a cauliflower fan (I’m not even 100% sure how this ended up on my Pinterest boards) but I really enjoyed this sauce. Try it, you’ll like it!! It made a much larger amount than I expected (which is probably why it called for so much garlic…duh) so I have a bunch leftover to try in another dish. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

Cauliflower “Alfredo” Pasta with Bacon

1 large head cauliflower (5-6 cups florets)
6 cups chicken or veggie broth
6 slices thick cut bacon, chopped & fried crisp with 2-3 Tbls drippings reserved
2-8 cloves minced garlic (I used 2 but recommend going for more! Pinch of Yum uses 8!)
1/2 cup rice milk
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste (heavier on the pepper)
8 oz corn pasta

Chop cauliflower into florets, bring broth to a boil, add florets, & cook for 8-10 minutes until tender. Do not drain! Transfer cauliflower to blender with a slotted spoon, then measure 1 cup of cooking liquid/broth & add to blender. Discard remaining liquid.

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

Meanwhile, fry bacon (I “chop” mine with my poultry sheers to make quick work of it.) Once crisp, remove to a paper towel lined plate to drain, & set aside 2-3 Tbls of drippings. Discard remaining drippings. Also begin cooking pasta according to package instructions.

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

Return drippings to pan & add garlic. Sauté about 30 seconds, being careful not to over cook. Add garlic & drippings to blender.

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

Add rice milk, salt & pepper to blender. Vent the top of your blender (you’re about to blend very hot liquids…it is dangerous…and messy…to blend hot liquids without venting.) Blend on low until well combined/puréed.

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

Drain pasta. Return to pot & add 1/2 of the sauce (save the rest for another day!) Stir in bacon. Add more salt & pepper, if needed. Enjoy!

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

This is a (much) healthier alternative to traditional Alfredo sauce. If you don’t have to avoid dairy you may be interested in adding some parmesan cheese but it’s great without it!

Top 8 Allergen-Free Cauliflower Alfredo with Bacon

Have you gotten creative in your kitchen lately??

One thought on “Top 8 Allergen Free “Alfredo” Pasta with Bacon

  1. Pingback: Smothered Chicken Pasta | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

