6 Week Stories: Beach Birthday Party

birthday invitation 2_Fotor


This week’s birthday-inspired installment showcases my daughter’s first birthday. As I  mentioned last week, I have a penchant for thinking I want a low-key party right up until 2 weeks before the big day. That was the case with Baybay’s first birthday party. I wanted to find a theme that was simple and fun. As we had taken our first big family vacation to the beach a couple months prior, I thought a beach theme would be perfect for her summer birthday.

Decorations 

I selected yellow and teal as the colors- bright and beachy! I found plenty of decorations at the Dollar Store.

colors

I made an invitation using Microsoft Publisher. Honestly, I just searched beach in the invitation template and found this.  Adding a photo from our recent beach vacation gave it a personal touch. Then,  I tweaked it, turned it into a PDF, and emailed it to our friends and family.

birthday invitation 2

My favors for the party were shovels from the Dollar Store in a clear plastic bag drowning in candy. I included a card that said, “Baybay digs you- thanks for coming!” I also printed out some photos of BayBay and mounted them on teal and gold construction paper. I accented them with beach stickers and hung them in our windows. Easy decorations and everyone loved seeing BayBay in the surf! I also made a photo collage at Walgreens with a photo of her from each month of her life. People really enjoyed seeing how she changed each month.

favors

To add a little sparkle I made a banner out of glitter ribbon and swirly teal and gold material I cut into strips. It reminded me of waves. I tied alternating colored strips in knots on a piece of nautical looking rope I found.  I also tied the rope around a mason jar and added some sand and shells to use as a centerpiece.

banner 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

banner 2

 

banner 3

Food

I served dips and chicken strips. To keep with the beach theme I served the chips in beach buckets. snacks

I made my own smash cake using a giant cupcake mold I’ve been wanting to try out for a while. I found some teal icing and fish sprinkles to keep in our beach theme. smash cake

Instead of serving my guests cake, I had a cupcake bar. I made three kinds of cupcakes, three kinds of icing and set out some sprinkles. Everyone made their own treat to suit their tastes. MMMMM. cupcake bar 1 cupcake bar 2

 

I was talking to my mom about the party tonight and we remembered how we’d had so much fun that day. The ease of the decorations and food made the day relaxing and allowed us to focus on our little girl. I loved the banner from that day so much it is hanging up in my classroom. I think of our happy day every time I look at it!

5 thoughts on “6 Week Stories: Beach Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: Garden Party Grub | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

