Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf (take 1)

Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf

Welp, we’ve survived the first 2 weeks of living top 8 allergen free. I’m so lucky to say that Buddy has been gobbling up everything I’ve been cooking in my experimental kitchen over the past couple weeks. I still can’t believe it. I don’t think he ate this well before this elimination diet and I always thought he was a good eater. Maybe it’s a growth spurt. Regardless, I hesitated to share this recipe today because it didn’t hold together as well as my meatloaves typically do but after thinking back to the dinner table last night & Buddy chanting “more meatloaf! More meatloaf!” (until I reminded him to use his nice words…ahem) I knew I had to post it.

The best thing about this meatloaf is how easy it was. Seriously easy. That’s one of my favorite things about meatloaf…easy. My meatloaf rarely comes out the same way twice…which is my very very favorite thing about it. I love to experiment and throw a little of this & a little of that in and see what happens. This is what got me thinking about a mexi-meatloaf. I needed a breadcrumb/bread ingredient that wasn’t bread….bingo! Gluten free corn tortillas (next time I might experiment with crushed tortilla chips!) I didn’t want to use barbecue sauce or ketchup…but I had a bottle of mild green taco sauce. Perfect. Seasoning a meatloaf is the real trick and for this one, I looked no further than Mandy’s low sodium taco seasoning. Amen friends. Amen. This is only the beginning…I promise I’ll make it again with a new twist that will hopefully hold its shape a little better. Stay tuned…

Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf

1-1.5 lbs lean ground beef

1 Tbls Mandy’s low sodium taco seasoning

1/4 cup mild green taco sauce

3 small gluten free corn tortillas, diced into very small pieces

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Throw your ingredients in a bowl and, with very clean hands, give it a good mix.

Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf

I like to line my baking sheet with foil when I’m making meatloaf for easier clean-up. You can spray it with allergy-friendly cooking spray if you like. Then dump your mixture onto the foil and shape into a “loaf.” I use this method over an actual loaf pan to help speed up the cooking time. If you want to cook yours in a loaf pan, adjust baking time accordingly. If I want to drop the cooking time even more, I split this mixture into about 6 mini meatloaves on the baking sheet. This also helps keep an egg-free meatloaf from falling apart when sliced…as mine did tonight. Anyway, if you’re cooking in one big loaf on a baking sheet like this, plan on 30-40 minutes at 375. Six mini loaves usually run closer to 20-25 minutes at the same temp.

Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf

Serve it up as is or top it with your favorite salsa! Buddy still prefers his with ketchup but he did eat two servings.

Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf

I served it with some grilled squash & zucchini and mashed potatoes tonight but some calabacitas (minus the cheese) would have been perfect too! The possibilities are endless.

What do you like to put in your meatloaf? Does meatloaf scare you off? (I’m surprised by the number of people who shun meatloaf all together…give it a chance folks!)

Leave a Reply

