Eggless French Toast

Eggless French Toast

When we learned about Buddy’s egg allergy, I had to relearn how to cook so many things. Some substitutions were (relatively) easy…pancakes, muffins, cake…others have really given me trouble. For example: I have yet to make a successful batch of egg free brownies. Wowsa that one has created more flops in my kitchen than I care to admit. Still other foods I didn’t think were possible to make without eggs…like French toast.

Here’s where I am so thankful for the community of other moms of kids with food allergies I have surrounded myself with…I was at a Christmas cookie exchange back in December chatting with one of these mamas whose child has nearly identical allergies to Buddy. She mentioned something about French toast & my eyes nearly bugged out of my head! French toast?! No eggs? This can’t be good.

Oh my friends, it can. It really, really can. She shared this recipe she found from Food Allergy Mama & I knew I had to try it right away.

It wasn’t perfect the first time. I found this recipe stuck to my non-stick griddle terribly the first time, a problem I had never encountered before. A little cooking spray with the next batch fixed that.

This is perfect for any family with egg allergies OR for those days when you really want French toast but don’t have eggs in the house. Give it a try!!

Eggless French Toast (by Food Allergy Mama)

12 slices allergen friendly bread
2 cups milk (or rice milk)
1/4 cup flour (or gluten free “flour”)
2 Tbls brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbls honey

Syrup & powdered sugar for topping

Combine milk, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, & honey in a large bowl. Stir or whisk well.

Eggless French Toast

Heat griddle to approx 325 degrees (medium to medium high heat.) Dip both sides of each slice of bread in milk mixture & place on griddle. I found it helpful to whisk/stir between dips to keep the honey incorporated.

Eggless French Toast

Cook a few minutes on each side until golden brown. Top with syrup & powdered sugar & enjoy!!

Eggless French Toast

Leave a Reply

