Easy Layered Ice Cream Cake

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

It’s no secret I have a sweet tooth. I wasn’t always this way but while I was pregnant with Buddy something snapped in my head and now I cannot go to bed without dessert. It’s sad. But when I look back at all the recipes I have shared over the past 6+ months, I realize I have shared a surprisingly low number of dessert recipes. Whaaaaa?! I know folks. I have failed you. (Thank goodness for Mandy and her cake balls.) I promise I will do better. Let’s start the healing process with this four layer ice cream cake shall we? Yes, yes we shall. Because it’s phenomenal. It is life altering. Seriously. The fudgey layer in the middle will blow you away. Ok maybe I’m getting a tad bit carried away but I promise it will at least leave you wanting to go back for seconds…and…after you do…thirds. No shame my friends. We’ve all been there. No? Just me? Well then you should try making this ice cream cake and keeping it that way. Dare ya.

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

24-30 oreo cookies, crushed
1/2 stick of butter (1/4 cup), melted
1/2 gallon (the rectangle box size) vanilla ice cream, softened
1-16 oz can of Hershey’s chocolate syrup (if you can’t find the can, the squeeze bottle works just fine…measure out 2 cups)
1 stick butter (yep, another one…I didn’t say this was good for you)
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 small container cool whip

Start by making the fudge layer (it will need to cool completely before you can add it on…it’s the third layer but you’ll make it first. Does that make sense? Bear with me.) Melt a stick of butter in a pot then add chocolate syrup, & condensed milk. Bring to a boil and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Add vanilla & stir. Allow to cool completely while working on other layers.

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

Crush 24-30 oreos, mix with 1/2 stick melted butter, & press into a greased 9×13 pan to form a bottom “crust.” Pop it in the freezer for 30 minutes. When you pop it in, take your ice cream out to soften on the counter.

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

After 30 minutes, bring the crust back out and spread a layer of the softened ice cream over top. Put it back in the freezer for another 30 minutes to let this layer set.

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

Back out of the freezer (go watch some Olympic events in between each layer to kill the time) and pour cooled fudge layer over top. Back to the freezer we go for…you guessed it…30 minutes. Don’t be alarmed if your fudge didn’t quite cool completely and some of the ice cream bubbles up through it. Not gonna hurt anything. Promise.

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

Once layer 3 is set you can spread the cool whip on top to “ice” the cake. Feel free to decorate with sprinkles, colored sugar, write on it with one of those little tubes of decorator’s icing, whatever…or leave it be. I chose mini chocolate chips this time.

Easy Four Layer Ice Cream Cake

Every night I tried to remember to get a picture of a slice of this amazingly delicious ice cream cake but every night I remembered right about the time I stuffed the final bite into my mouth. Doh. Sorry about that. No shots of the layers. Maybe I should have made another one just to get the shot. Hmmm. Yes, I think another ice cream cake is in order at our house. What do you think? Who wants some?

One thought on “Easy Layered Ice Cream Cake

Leave a Reply

