Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

I’m still feeling bad about not getting a recipe posted last week so you get two this week. Lucky you. (Ha)

Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

This chicken dish is one my mom has made many times & I love love love it! The odd thing about that statement is that I detest Swiss cheese. Seriously not a fan. But on this chicken…whoa. So amazingly good. It’s always been one of those “don’t forget to thaw your chicken & leave an hour or so for dinner prep & cook time” types of recipes. And so…I had never actually made it myself. I was on a mission. I was going to make this in the crock pot.

My biggest concern was that the cheese would just melt away & get lost but (most of it) stayed put! I was so tickled when I pulled the chicken out for dinner the other night that I knew I had to share this one right away. So tickled that I forgot to take a picture of it plated. Oops. And yummmm.

Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

2-3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used tenderloins this time)
4-6 slices of Swiss cheese
1 can cream of chicken soup OR 1 1/4 cups homemade cream of chicken soup
1/2 cup chicken broth or white wine (I used broth)
Bread crumbs to sprinkle over top

Line bottom of crock pot with chicken (I even tossed mine in frozen).

Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

Lay slices of Swiss cheese over top.

Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

Mix broth (or wine) with soup & pour over top of chicken & cheese.

Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

Sprinkle with bread crumbs. Set slow cooker to low for 4-6 hours. Do Not cook chicken breasts in the crock pot for more than 6 hours. You’re setting yourself up for tough, chewy chicken. Trust me on this one.

Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

I served this with creamy Parmesan orzo but rice pilaf is a fantastic pairing for this dish as well.

People. My friends. Don’t wait. Get this chicken on your meal plan asap.

6 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken

  1. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: How to Feed Your Family When You Are a Terrible Cook | FromMom2MILF

  3. Pingback: How to Feed Your Family When You Are a Terrible Cook - Moms 4 the Cause

  4. Pingback: Top 8 Allergen Free Chicken Nuggets | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

