Tuesday Tunes: Snacktime!

Snacktime

If you’ve ever found yourself singing the theme from The Big Bang Theory you’re going to love this kids’ album by the same artist, The Barenaked Ladies (FYI- that song is NOT on this album). Snacktime! is a quirky and cheerful collection of songs that appeal to Gen X/Y parents as much as their Generation Z children. It comes with a whimsically illustrated lyric book. It’s been a long time since I’ve read anything that resembles liner notes!

Some of our favorites include “789,” a western diddy, that plays on the joke “Why was 6 afraid of 7? Because 7 8 9!” I literally laughed out loud the first time I heard, “The Ninjas.” I think it had to do with the popularity of ninja movies in my childhood, but it makes me (and my kiddos) smile every time. A shorty, but goody is “My Big Sister” which sings “I like my big sister/ But I don’t want to wear her coat. /It may be black/ It may fit perfect/ But you and I both know it’s a girl’s coat.”  Once again, my kids and I are giggling along to these funny and witty tunes. 

I will warn you that you may want to refer to this band as BNL around your little ones. I almost ran off the rode when my three year-old said, “Mom, I want Barenaked Ladies! I really love Barenaked Ladies, Mom.” Thank goodness we were not in public! 🙂

You can listen to the album in it’s entirety here (for free!).

“Polywog in a Bog”- we love the puppets!

The track list:

“7 8 9”
“The Ninjas”
“Pollywog In A Bog”
“Raisins”
“Eraser”
“I Can Sing”
“Louis Loon”
“Food Party”
“The Canadian Snacktime Trilogy I: Snacktime”
“The Canadian Snacktime Trilogy II: Popcorn”
“The Canadian Snacktime Trilogy III: Vegetable Town”
“Drawing”
“Humungous Tree”
“My Big Sister”
“Allergies”
“I Don’t Like”
“What a Wild Tune”
“Bad Day”
“Things”
“Curious”
“A Word for That”
“Wishing”
“Crazy ABC’s”
“Here Come The Geese”

Tune in next week for our final installment of Tuesday Tunes!

One thought on “Tuesday Tunes: Snacktime!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tunes: Top 5 Places for Free Kids Music | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

