Tuesday Tunes: Miss Ella’s Playhouse

Miss Ella's Playhouse

The next installment of Tuesday Tunes brings you 2008’s “Miss Ella’s Playhouse.”  This collection of upbeat and spirited tunes by The First Lady of Song provides terrific exposure for your child (and maybe yourself!) to style of music from another time. I love the vintage crackle and organic sounds of this jazzy album. Ella’s voice is unique and familiar at the same time.  These songs were not recorded as children’s music per se but their playful mood is delightful for the young (and young at heart).

The album begins with her first number one hit, “A-Tisket, A-Tasket.” I remember my grandma and mom singing this song to me as a child. Other favorites from childhood include”The Muffin Man,” “Old Mother Hubbard,” and “Old MacDonald Had a Farm.” This is by far the snazziest version of “Old MacDonald” I’ve ever encountered! Fun word play is abound in “Chew-Chew-Chew (Chew Your Bubble Gum)” and “The Hot Canary” that just goes “Peep! Peep! Come to think I’m feeling merry/ Peep! Peep! Heck with my vocabulary/ Peep! Peep! Love is all that’s necessary and I love you!”  I love the fun little tales she spins in “Melinda the Mousie” and “Molasses, Molasses.” Plenty of rhythm and rhyme will keep your youngsters boppin!

Full playlist:

1. A-Tisket, A-Tasket
2. The Organ Grinder’s Swing
3. The Muffin Man
4. Chew-Chew-Chew (Chew Your Bubble Gum)
5. Melinda the Mousie
6. Old Mother Hubbard
7. Molasses, Molasses
8. The Bean Bag Song
9. Two Men in a Flying Saucer
10. The Hot Canary
11. Old McDonald

Here’s a clip of one of the tracks with some great photos. I think this album would be a great gift for a baby shower or first birthday. It’s simple, refreshing and never gets old. My one year-old giggles, wiggles, and sings when listen to it (although I have to admit Baybay’s voice quality reminds me more of Janis Joplin than Ella 🙂 ).

The distributor of the album, Universal Music Family, has several albums I’m interested in checking out: Totally 80s for Kids, J is for Jackson 5, and B is for Bob (Marley) are just a few. I hope you’ll give it a try and let me know what you think.

Stay tuned for Snacktime! and the BNL next week!

One thought on “Tuesday Tunes: Miss Ella’s Playhouse

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tunes: Top 5 Places for Free Kids Music | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

