Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

Back in November, Mandy shared her awesome recipe for making your own cream of mushroom soup from scratch.  Heaven.  And what a great way to avoid using the canned stuff.  Not that I don’t ever use the canned stuff.  Guilty.  But if you have a few extra minutes to spare (cause really, that’s all it takes) making your own is just divine.  So it got me thinking…I don’t use a whole lot of cream of mushroom but I sure do go through some cream of chicken!  Lucky for me, I found lots of recipes for making it from scratch then tried out my own version.  It’s delicious, low sodium (a huge plus), and, in my opinion, much more flavorful than the canned stuff.  Try it out the next time you need it…you may never go back to canned!

Cream of Chicken Soup

4 Tbls unsalted butter

1/3 cup flour

1 cup low sodium chicken broth

1/2 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream (You should be able to sub 1 cup of 2% or whole milk.)

pepper (I liked keeping the seasoning simple so I could season recipes I’ll be adding this soup to as needed but feel free to add other spices if you want to experiment.)

Melt butter in a pot then add flour, whisking to create a roux.  Cook over medium heat for a couple minutes until nice and bubbly.  Stir almost constantly so it doesn’t burn.

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

Add chicken broth and stir until fully incorporated into the roux.  Repeat with skim milk, then cream.  Season and continue to cook over medium heat until thickened.

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

This makes just over 2 cups of soup which is perfect for one of my favorite crock pot recipes…Passionate Penny Pincher’s Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings!  I substitute one recipe of this cream of chicken soup for the 2 cans of cream of chicken her recipe calls for.  I also use frozen chopped onions.  The only cooking change I make is to turn my slow cooker up to high when I add the biscuits/dumplings.  I prefer the texture of the dumplings when cooked at a higher temp.  Just a personal thing.

This would also be perfect for Mandy’s cheesy potato casserole!  What recipe will you try it in?

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Creamy Swiss Chicken | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. So it is basically a gravy? Sounds easy enough. I thought the skim milk and heavy cream combo was interesting. Somehow diluted and rich just don’t seem to go together. I think I will go the whole milk route.

Leave a Reply

