Buckeyes

Mandy's Buckeyes

I was lucky enough to get to sample Lauren’s nut-free buckeye recipe. OMG! So delicious. I would never have believed they weren’t made with peanut butter. And that’s pretty incredible because I LOVE peanut butter. I was grateful she only brought me two because I could have devoured 100.

If you do not have peanut allergies to contend with, try my buckeye recipe. It is a different from any other buckeyes I’ve had. And to be honest, I think it is far superior due to 3 key elements.

1. I dip the entire thing in chocolate. I can’t think of a good reason not to.

2. I add Rice Krispies.

3. I use crunchy peanut butter.

Ingredients

buckeyes

1 pound (4 cups) confectioner’s (powdered) sugar

2 cups crunchy peanut butter

3 cups Rice Krispies

1/4 pound butter, softened

2 bags of semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 stick of paraffin wax, cut into pieces (optional, but recommended if you are using a double boiler)

Instead of a double boiler, I’m using my new Wilton Chocolate Pro Melting Pot that St. Nick left in my stocking! If you’ll recall, my last one was destroyed by an act of goodwill.  As an avid cake baller, this is a necessity for me. If you melt chocolate and dip stuff in it at least twice a year, this is worth the $20. You don’t have to stand at the stove as you do for a double boiler and you don’t have to worry about continuing to heat your chocolate in the microwave if you go that route.

buckeyes

Using a mixer, on low speed, combine butter and peanut butter.

http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/store/product/wilton-chocolate-pro-melting-pot/1017827006?device=c&network=g&matchtype=&mcid=PS_googlepla_nonbrand_cookware_&gclid=CPC46OHPvLsCFYg-MgodYiQA_Q

I know you are thinking, “Mandy, this doesn’t look like crunchy peanut butter.” You’re right. I was out of crunchy. But the next batch will DEFINITELY be all crunch!

Add powdered sugar slowly. Add Rice Krispies.

I'm in the holiday spirit in my holiday apron!

I’m in the holiday spirit in my holiday apron!

buckeyes

Mix well until dough forms.

buckeyes

Put the dough in the freezer for 30 minutes to an hour (or overnight).  Roll into one inch balls.

I did this step backwards. It is MUCH easier if you freeze the dough before rolling it.

I did this step backwards. It is MUCH easier if you freeze the dough before rolling it.

In a double boiler melt the chocolate chips and paraffin wax (if desired- it keeps the chocolate from getting too thick). Or melt the chocolate chips in your melting pot.

wpid-IMG_20131218_073712.jpg wpid-IMG_20131218_073755.jpg

Dip the peanut butter balls into the chocolate and put on wax paper until the chocolate is set.

buckeyes

A word of caution: Do not make these too early because you will find yourself sneaking out to the deep freezer to eat one….and then two….. and then the next thing you know your container is empty and you’ve got to scramble to make another batch for Christmas Day! Not that I have any experience with this…..  🙂

3 thoughts on “Buckeyes

  1. Pingback: Gooey Butter Cookies | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: 6 Week Stories: Top 5 Birthday (or Mother’s Day hint hint) Gifts for Mom | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

