Nut-Free Buckeyes

Nut-Free Buckeyes

Yes my friends, it is possible.  And not only is it possible, but I think I just found a way to fulfill all of my chocolate-peanut butter cravings!  You see, before we discovered Buddy’s peanut allergy…I was a peanut butter fiend.  I ate that stuff like it was going out of style.  Chocolate peanut butter?  Fuggedaboutit.  These days, I rely on my sister to keep a stash of “contraband” (aka…food that Buddy is allergic to) at her house so I can raid the stash when I come to babysit.

No more.  Now, I can make my own!!!

Have you heard of Wowbutter??

Nut-Free Buckeyes

It’s made from roasted soy, is completely nut-free, and it is the closest thing to peanut butter taste that I can find.  Sunbutter is pretty good (and if you have a soy allergy it’s the way to go) but I could not believe my tastebuds when I bit into the first buckeye.  So I had to eat another one.  And then one more for good measure.  Pure chocolate peanut…wait…chocolate wowbutter bliss.  Maybe I should call these Wow-Buckeyes.  Nah.

Nut-Free Buckeyes

1 1/2 c Wowbutter

1/2 c butter, softened (I used unsalted)

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups powdered sugar

12 oz bag of chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

2 Tbls shortening (I used Crisco)

Combine Wowbutter, butter, vanilla, and salt in mixing bowl.  Beat on low until blended.  Isn’t it pretty??

Nut-Free Buckeyes

Add powdered sugar, a cup at a time, beating until blended.  Beat in additional powdered sugar until mixture, when shaped into a ball, will stay on a toothpick. (I needed all 3 cups.)

Nut-Free Buckeyes

Shape into 1-inch balls & freeze for an hour.

Nut-Free Buckeyes

Melt chocolate chips and shortening in microwave safe bowl in 30 second incriments, stirring after each, until smooth.  Reheat as needed while coating Wowbutter balls.

Nut-Free Buckeyes

Insert toothpick in wowbutter ball.  Dip 3/4 of ball into chocolate, leaving top uncovered to resemble a buckeye.  Allow excess to drip off.  Place on parchment paper-lined tray.  Remove toothpick and smooth over hole if you want.  I’m lazy so I didn’t smooth it out.  Tastes the same.  Promise.  Refrigerate until chocolate is set.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Nut-Free Buckeyes

These are so. darn. good.  I’m not sure if they will survive in my fridge until Christmas…I might eat them all by then.  Especially if we get iced in this weekend.  No promises.

Hey friends, I have a surprise for you.  Mandy has MORE buckeye deliciousness coming your way tomorrow!  Stay tuned for her tasty twist on this traditional treat!

7 thoughts on “Nut-Free Buckeyes

  1. Pingback: Buckeyes | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: Gooey Butter Cookies | Gaining Mommymentum

  3. Pingback: 6 Week Stories: Top 5 Birthday (or Mother’s Day hint hint) Gifts for Mom | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

