Salt Dough Ornaments

Salt Dough Ornaments

Making ornaments is another one of those childhood memories I just can’t supress.  I have had so much fun this year sharing these kinds of sentimental holiday activities with Buddy.  He is at such a fun age where he gets it and is interested and wants to be so hands on.  I love it.  Absolutely love it.

There was a time when I was opposed to having any ornaments other than my red and silver balls on my tree.  Luckily that phase in my life passed and I’m welcoming more and more handmade and non-color-themed-ball-ornaments onto our family tree.  It’s beautiful.  And these salt dough ornaments Buddy and I made together were exactly what our tree was missing this year. I used this recipe from spoonful.com.

You will need:

1 cup flour

1/2 cup salt (I used plain old iodized salt)

1/2 cup water

rolling pin

cookie cutters

drinking straw

cookie sheets

parchment paper

Mix flour, salt, and water together.  As always, let your kiddo do it!

Salt Dough Ornaments

Lightly flour your work surface and roll out dough about 1/4″ thick.

Salt Dough Ornaments

I let Buddy try for a bit but then eventually took over.  Not sure my rolling was all that better. 😉

Salt Dough Ornaments

Push cookie cutters into dough. (This recipe makes 16-20 depending on what size cookie cutters you are using.)

Salt Dough Ornaments

Punch a hole in the top of the ornament with the straw.  Can also try a toothpick if no straws are available.

Salt Dough Ornaments

Pop it out & lay on parchment paper on a cookie sheet.  Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Salt Dough Ornaments

Spoonful recommends 2 hours baking time…I baked just over an hour and mine were nice and hard so I took em out.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Salt Dough Ornaments

Leave a Reply

