Spinach Artichoke Bites

Spinach Artichoke Bites

Anyone else going to lots of holiday parties?  I thought I’d share with you one of my go-to appetizers that is always a big hit in case you need to bring something along to share.  This is a recipe given to me years ago by my mother-in-law, who I believe got it from her sister-in-law…and from there I’m just not sure where it came from.  But it’s good.  So good.  I’m not 100% sure I still use the original ratios/measurements but this is how I make it these days. 🙂

Spinach Artichoke Dip/Bites (This recipe makes 30 bites PLUS an 8×8 pan OR one 9×13 pan.)

10 oz. box frozen, chopped spinach (thawed and squeezed dry)

1 can quartered artichokes, drained

8 oz. bar of cream cheese, softened

1/2-1 cup mayo (I use vegan mayo & it works just great!)

1 cup parmesan cheese, plus more for sprinkling if making as a dip

10 oz. can rotel, drained

cayenne pepper and garlic powder to taste (I use a couple generous shakes of each.)

30 frozen phyllo/fillo shells (2 packs of 15)

Spinach Artichoke Bites

If you’re making bites, be sure to chop up your artichokes a little more, otherwise they are generally too large to fit in the phyllo shells.

Spinach Artichoke Bites

Combine all ingredients (except the phyllo shells) in a large bowl.  I promise there’s a bar of cream cheese under there. 🙂

Spinach Artichoke Bites

Mix em up real good…

Spinach Artichoke Bites

Scoop dip into phyllo shells and place in a 9×13 baking dish.  If just making dip, scoop straight into the 9×13 pan.  (Or several different sized smaller pans…you can freeze one for later!)  If making dip, now’s the time to sprinkle with more parmesan cheese.

Spinach Artichoke Bites

Pop em in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.

Spinach Artichoke Bites

Try not to eat them all before you get to the party!  Luckily, a 9×13 fits 28 of these in pretty rows so there will be 2 for you to eat right away…you know…for presentation’s sake.  😉  Enjoy!

One thought on “Spinach Artichoke Bites

  1. I like the idea of pre-made shells. and you just reminded me that I have an old recipe from a tea house that used to be in Ste. gen. pretty sure it didn’t have shells. I will have to dig it out and compare them, yours sound awfully good but have some different ingredients. lucky ily, I am the kind of person that can have several favorites when it comes to food!

Leave a Reply

