Broccoli Salad

This just must be a week for fails here at Gaining Mommymentum. Somehow I lost several of the photos I took to share with this recipe. They are just gone. Boo.

However, I really wanted to share this recipe because I think it’s a really nice addition to a holiday table. Put it next to cranberry sauce and you’ve got a red and green Christmas combo! Plus, it’s an Itzie recipe and I’m sure you’re learning by now that if I say it’s from Itzie it’s got to be good.

Ingredients

2 bunches broccoli or 1 bag of steamed broccoli, cooled to room temperature

1/2 cup dark seedless raisins

1/2 cup chopped green onions

1 8 ounce can of slide water chestnuts, drained

1 cup mayo

1 tablespoon white vinegar

1/3 cup sugar

1 pound of bacon, crumbled

Since I don’t have my photo to show you my ingredients I will tell you that I used frozen broccoli, low-fat mayo, and turkey bacon. I also cut the sugar down to about 1/4 cup- it’s a preference.

Combine broccoli, raisins, green onions, and water chestnuts into a large serving bowl. In a separate bowl, combine mayo, vinegar and sugar. Whisk together until smooth.

edit broccoli salad

Pour mayo mixture over broccoli mixture and blend.

 broccoli salad 2

Refrigerate for a couple of hours before serving. Add the crumbled bacon just before serving.

I have bought something similar to this from a deli counter at a local supermarket. I really prefer making my own because I can change some of the ingredients to suit my tastes.  It’s easy, can be made ahead of time, and always a crowd pleaser!

4 thoughts on “Broccoli Salad

Leave a Reply

