Oreo Pops

Oreo Pops -- Gaining Mommymentum

I absolutely LOVE baking Christmas cookies!  I have so many memories from my childhood about baking cookies with my family.  We made Russian tea cakes, peanut butter blossoms, candy cane cookies, cut out sugar cookies, fudge, candies, and more…the list went on and on.  And while we often threw in something new, it was usually the same cast of characters.  Year after year it was quite the baking marathon.  As an adult, I spread my cookie baking out to make it a little more manageable for me.  Hubby and I pick a cookie and, once Buddy is in bed, get baking!

Every once in a while, I find something that is more low-maintenance (read: no baking!) but still big on presentation.  Last year I made these Copycat Williams & Sonoma peppermint wafer cookies.  They were a big hit, winning me “Most Likely to Make” at my sister’s annual cookie exchange since they were SO stinkin’ easy to make.  And it helped that they were yummy yummy yummy too!

This year I decided to make it just a smidge trickier (dipping things in chocolate is so good but I always struggle with it…still can’t believe these truffles turned out without any trouble.)  But don’t worry, it’s still no-bake, still simple, and still sure to meet all your sweet-tooth needs!

Oreo Pops (Pop inspiration)

36 Double Stuf Oreos (get the family size pack…plan on a few being broken)

2 bags white chocolate chips

lollipop sitcks (craft stores in the cake decorating aisle…or WalMart)

sprinkles

Oreo Pops -- Gaining Mommymentum

Push sticks into oreos.  Check for cracks in the cookies.  If you see one (many of mine had them) insert the stick perpendicular to the crack.  Don’t twist the stick, this just causes more cracking.  If cookies separate a little, gently but firmly squeeze them back together to seal.  Push the stick until it’s almost to the top.  Heat 1 bag of chocolate in the microwave in 30 second increments, stirring after each, until smooth (heat the second bag when you’re out of chocolate from the first.)  Be careful not to overheat as the chocolate will get funky.  Nobody likes funky chocolate.  Well, maybe James Brown but that’s beside the point.  Moving on.  I preferred to spoon the chocolate over the oreos rather than dip.  Didn’t want to risk them sliding off the sticks or getting crumbs in the white chocolate.  Use the back of the spoon to smooth the chocolate on both sides and around the edges.  Place cookies on parchment paper on a cookie sheet.

Oreo Pops -- Gaining Mommymentum

I did 4 at a time then sprinkled with festive sprinkles before the chocolate hardened too much.  As I got to the bottom of the bowl of chocolate I had to work faster, and opted to do 2 at a time before sprinkling.

Oreo Pops -- Gaining Mommymentum

When you have a full tray, pop em in the freezer for 15-20 minutes or until chocolate is completely set.

Oreo Pops -- Gaining Mommymentum

I store mine in tupperware in the fridge, but these would probably be just fine at room temp.  Let’s see if these help me bring home any prizes at the cookie exchange this year…I’ll let you know! 😉

Oreo Pops -- Gaining Mommymentum

2 thoughts on “Oreo Pops

  1. Pingback: Gooey Butter Cookies | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: 6 Week Stories: Top 5 Birthday (or Mother’s Day hint hint) Gifts for Mom | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

