DIY Scented Pine Cones

DIY Scented Pine Cones

Fresh cut Christmas trees. Fires in the fireplace. Gingerbread and sugar cookies in the oven. Ahhhh…the smells of the holiday season are filling the air. One of my favorite things has always been walking through stores this time of year and strolling past the bags of scented pine cones. Holy smokes I could stand next to that display forever breathing in the spicy cinnamon aroma. I’ve never been able to talk myself into buying them. I don’t think I knew what to do with them and couldn’t bring myself to drop $6 on a bag of pine cones. It seemed silly. There are pine cones all over the place outside, why would I pay $6 for them? Then it dawned on me…I can make my own!!!

You will need:

pine cones (Don’t have a pine tree? Ask a friend! I stole got mine from my sister’s yard.)

mod podge (or just mix a little water into some Elmer’s glue to dilute it a bit)

paint brush

gallon-sized ziplock bag

mesh bag (I re-used the bag my clementines came in…perfect size!)

spices (I used 2 Tbls cinnamon, 1 Tbls ginger, 2 tsp ground cloves, & 1 tsp allspice)

DIY Scented Pine ConesDump whatever spices you are using into the gallon-sized ziplock bag and set aside. You could even add a little bit of super fine glitter to get a little sparkle on your pine cones if you want a sparkly look. Paint pine cones with a thin layer of mod podge. I made mine in batches of 4. It was manageable that way.

DIY Scented Pine Cones

Toss pine cones into bag, seal, and give them a good shake to coat. You’ll want to go outside for this next step.

DIY Scented Pine Cones

Transfer pine cones to the mesh bag (outside) and give them a good shake to lose the extra spices. Breath in deeply. Mmmmmm. 🙂

DIY Scented Pine Cones

Repeat with other pine cones. Lay out to dry completely on parchment or wax paper. Decorate your home to fill it with the amazing aroma! A few ideas? Tie a ribbon around the top and hang on your Christmas tree as ornaments. Tie them to any garland you may have hanging around your house. Or, my personal favorite, fill a vase or bowl with them and set them anywhere you want to smell them.

DIY Scented Pine Cones

This was a pretty look but then I remembered I had some red wooden beads that kinda look like cranberries so I tossed those in with them and now it’s the perfect festive accent on my mantle!

DIY Scented Pine Cones

Love it! Have you done any frugal decorating around your house this year? I’d love to hear about it!

One thought on “DIY Scented Pine Cones

  1. Pingback: advent 6 | Semi-Charmed Life

Leave a Reply

