Wine Cork Turkeys

Wine Cork Turkeys

This time of year, I like to turn EVERYTHING into turkeys…first pumpkins, now wine corks. If you’re like me and have a giant bowl of wine corks sitting around (don’t ask me where they came from…ahem) you might just find this craft to be up your alley too. 🙂

These little gobblers took next to no time at all to throw together (I already had everything I needed around the house but even if you don’t it shouldn’t take you long to gather supplies at Wal-Mart) and made a cute addition to my recent Thanksgiving themed dinner party placesettings. Of course, in typical Lauren-style, I got too excited/distracted and forgot to take a picture of them all on the table with the placesettings. *forehead slap* So here I am writing up the post after sending them all home with the guests hoping you all won’t mind using your imagination a little bit. 🙂 Thanks.

You will need:

Felt: red, orange, and yellow (or whatever color combo your little heart desires)

3 different round objects to trace (I used my 1/2 c, 1/3 c, and 1/4 c measuring cups)

Wine corks (we’re recycling folks)

hot glue gun

permanent marker (if you want to write on them)

Trace and cut all of your circles. I liked the scalloped look the pinking shears gave me BUT they made it REALLY difficult to cut nice round circles. This didn’t bother me all that much but if it bothers you, you might consider using straight scissors and leaving your circles smooth.

Cork Turkey Place Holders

Glue the orange circle on top of the red circle with edges together on one side…clear as mud? Take a peek for yourself.

Cork Turkey Place Holders

Repeat with the yellow circle to complete the tail feathers.

Cork Turkey Place Holders

Glue the cork to the tail feathers with just a touch of the cork sticking past the bottom of the feathers. If you glue the feathers too high your turkey will be top-heavy and won’t stand up…toppling turkeys are downright maddening I tell you.

Cork Turkey Place Holders

At this point you could choose to glue on googly eyes and draw on a beak and waddle….or you could write your guests’ names if you want to use them for place markers.

Cork Turkey Place Holders

I just love things like this.  It’s all about little details that don’t take a ton of time or money that make things feel just a little more special.  Yep.  I like that. 🙂  Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

