Upcycled Pumpkin Round-Up

It’s November 6th. The Halloween decorations came down at our house yesterday. Bring on Thanksgiving!

Upcycled Pumpkins

Quick poll: Raise your hand if you have uncarved pumpkins still on the front porch! *raises hand* We only got around to carving one of our four pumpkins this year (October was the new December around here as far as crazy months go) so while I was out tearing down all of the fake cobwebs from our bushes (if you look closely you can still see the remnants behind my turkey pumpkin in the picture above) and front porch (yep, we’re that house) I started thinking about what to do with those leftover pumpkins.

Luckily, I remembered that my dad made me that pumpkin-to-turkey-transformation kit a couple years ago…all it needed was some paint! A quick trip to Wal-Mart and about $1.50 later my turkey feathers were painted & ready to go! Each feather and the head are cut out of an old 2×4, I believe, with a wooden dowel sticking out from the underside so you can push that part into the pumpkin. So cute. My mom has a set that she got years and years ago (maybe from a craft fair??) that I stole borrowed for a few years when I moved out. When she decided she wanted to use it again, it was Dad to the rescue making me my very own set.

So that took care of one pumpkin. Now I have two more I need to deal with. They are smaller ones so I’m turning to the trusty interwebs in search of some inspiration. Perhaps you need a little too? Here’s a quick round-up of some of the best ideas I found to turn your leftover Halloween pumpkins into something special for Thanksgiving this year!

This. Well, this is gorgeous. I want this Thankful Tree by Carla Jo Sinclair on my dining room table right now…but I worry about using a real pumpkin to make it, even though she says you can. Sure you could use some of the same jack-o-lantern preservation tricks I shared last month but I think keeping a real pumpkin in tip top shape for indoors is probably a different ballgame than outdoors. Regardless, this idea is just beautiful in both looks and sentiment so I hope to find something I can use to make it!

Good Housekeeping always comes up big and this gallery of ideas is no different. My absolute favorite is #6 “Stamp of Approval.” Love it. So simple and you could use any stamp or stencil to fit your decor. I would probably use white paint for a slightly less bold look.

Better Homes and Gardens has some adorable ideas for painting pumpkins (love that look!) My favorites are the candy corn pumpkins (slide #2), painted patchwork (slide #9), and fall foliage (slide #13…they even provide a link for a leaf stencil to use).

Real Simple might take the cake with their chalkboard paint idea…why didn’t I think of this?! It’s so cute and would be super kid friendly as they could decorate the pumpkin over and over and you can still make an easy transition to a more elegant look if you are going to be having guests over for a feast. Perfect. Then they have the thumbtack pumpkin and of course my brain gets going and thinks the thumbtacks would look even better on a painted pumpkin…maybe. Might have to try it out for myself.

Do you have any big plans for your uncarved pumpkins in November? I’d love to see how you are decorating for Thanksgiving!

3 thoughts on “Upcycled Pumpkin Round-Up

  1. Pingback: Wine Cork Turkeys | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

