Crock Pot Stuffing

Whether you call it stuffing or dressing (I feel like it’s been used interchangeably all my life) this is my FAVORITE Thanksgiving side dish! My dad makes a killer stuffing that he prepares annually on Thanksgiving morning to stuff the bird with before popping into the oven. I know he uses fresh bread but beyond that…I have no idea what all goes into that stuffing. Celery. Yep…that’s about where my knowledge stops.

My stuffing doesn’t go in the bird. Nope. You know me…I go right for the crock pot. And unless you have a million giant serving dishes, do me a favor & just serve it straight out of that bad boy. Yep. That’s how I roll. Here we go.

Crock Pot Stuffing (inspired by/adapted from allrecipes.com)

4 Tbls. butter

1 c. chopped mushrooms (I like to use baby bellas)

1/2 c. chopped onion

2 stalks celery, chopped

12 oz. unseasoned cubed bread crumbs

1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning

3/4 tsp. sage

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/4 tsp. marjoram

salt and pepper to taste (I usually omit the salt.)

3-4 cups chicken or vegetable broth

Melt butter in a sauce pan and add mushrooms, celery, onions, and parsley. Cook until softened.

Crock Pot Stuffing

Pour cooked veggies over bread crumbs in a big bowl. Add all seasonings and begin adding broth about a cup at a time. Stir to combine and continue to add broth and stir until breadcrumbs are well moistened (but not soggy!)

Crock Pot Stuffing

See? Perfect!

Crock Pot Stuffing

Toss this in the crock pot and set to low for 3-4 hours, stirring occasionally if you happen to be around. I usually stir mine once or twice. Add more broth if it looks dry at all.

Crock Pot Stuffing

I could eat the entire crock of this…despite the fact that it serves 8-10. If I’m making this just for my family, one recipe will do. If I’m having company, I double the recipe and break out the larger crock pot. Must. Have. Leftovers.

So now we’ve crossed off half of the plate below…and tomorrow Mandy will share another tasty Thanksgiving recipe! Yes!

Thanksgiving Dinner Recipes

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Stuffing

  1. Pingback: Kid Science: Celery Straws | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: 2013 Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

  3. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

