Cranberry Relish Salad

Let the Thanksgiving recipe sharing begin!  I feel like I have been planning for this month for years.  The past several years I have slowly built an arsenal of my absolute favorite ways to prep many traditional Thanksgiving dishes.  Not only are the dishes I’ll be sharing this month delicious, they are easy on the cook!  These are crowd-pleasers folks.  You won’t be disappointed.  Promise.

Can I tell you something?  I am scared of that cranberry jelly stuff that you shake out of a can (with the impression of the can still fully intact), slice up, and serve.  I’ve never tried it, so I know I shouldn’t judge, but I just haven’t been able to bring myself to try it.  If it shows up at one of the many Thanksgiving meals I will attend this year I promise I will try to make myself try it.  Emphasis on *try.*  That being said, I guess you can’t really beat that kind of convenience.  If you’re looking for something a bit more…ahem…natural…without a lot of fuss, then THIS is the cranberry relish you should be bringing to Thanksgiving this year.

Cranberry Relish Salad (Many thanks to my friend Michelle for sharing this recipe year after year after year!)

1 lb. fresh cranberries, washed

1 1/2 c. water

2 c. sugar

2 oranges, peeled and diced

2 apples, peeled and diced

chopped pecans (optional…I omit these)

Bring water and sugar to a boil over medium high heat.  Add cranberries, reduce heat to medium, and stir.  Cook until cranberries puff up (some will burst)…about 5-10 minutes.  Remove from heat.

Cranberry Relish Salad

Once cooled slightly, add apples, oranges, and pecans (if using.)  Chill and serve.

Cranberry Relish Salad

This recipe makes quite a bit.  Easily 12-15 servings…even when I’m around sneaking spoonfuls every time I walk past the fridge.  🙂  If you’re feeding a HUGE crowd, it’s easy to double but consider making a single batch, seeing how much it really does make, and then be the judge as to whether or not you need to make another batch.  This is great to make ahead so you can avoid some of the craziness that is Thanksgiving.

I absolutely love how fresh this tastes.  It has a really bright flavor with a hint of acidity from the oranges.  It’s a nice change of pace from the heavier, starchy sides.  And it looks beautiful on the plate as well.  See?

Thanksgiving Dinner Recipes

Couldn’t help noticing you eyeing the rest of that meal…stay tuned on Mondays for the rest of this month for more mouthwatering Thanksgiving meal recipes from me.  But that’s not all…on Tuesdays Mandy will be serving up seconds with several of her tried and true Thanksgiving sides.  I can feel the tryptophan kicking in already.  😉

What Thanksgiving meal recipes are you hoping to see?

 

One thought on “Cranberry Relish Salad

  1. Pingback: 2013 Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

