Crock-tober: Slow Cooked Salsa Chicken

Super Easy Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

You asked for it and I listened…for our last week of Crock-tober I’ve whipped up THE EASIEST crock pot chicken recipe I have in my arsenal. Seriously folks, it really and truly doesn’t get much easier than this. Really.

Before I give you the recipe (as well as another yummy side dish to go with it) I have to tell you how much fun I’ve had sharing these crock pot meals. I love to cook–love it–but I also really really love spending time with my family AND there are a lot of days I know I’m not gonna have time to hang out in the kitchen for 30 minutes to an hour to cook something fabulous. At the same time, I don’t wanna serve up a frozen pizza every night of the week (though I have no problem breaking one out weekly, if needed.) Planning ahead and using my crock pot saves me on nights like these. And if I do end up with a little extra time before dinner, I just whip up a homemade side instead of nuking a steamer bag of veggies and calling it a day. Though, again, that happens a lot around here too. 🙂 Occasionally even I forget to plan ahead…and that’s when this slow cooker recipe comes to my rescue.

Slow Cooked Salsa Chicken

frozen boneless, skinless chicken thighs (can definitely use breasts too, just don’t cook longer than 6 hours on low)

a jar of your favorite salsa (I use mild but if you like spicy, go for it!)

Yep. That’s it. That’s all you need to put an amazing dinner on the table for your family. Buddy gobbled up his “yummy salsa chicken” without any ketchup! I have to tell you, I was impressed by that. 😉

Step 1: Place frozen chicken in crock pot.

Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

Step 2: Pour salsa over chicken. (Don’t hurt yourself…seriously.)

Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

Step 3: Set crock pot to low for 6 hours if using breasts, 6-8 if using thighs. (Thighs stand up to longer slow cooking times better than breasts.) Come back to perfectly cooked chicken. (This picture isn’t super pretty but I wish you could smell it at this point…when is someone gonna invent a way to download a smell on a computer??)

Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

Serve it up with your favorite sides…may I suggest cheesy calabacitas and corn cakes? This week I made this salsa chicken with a simpler version of the calabacitas and made a chili rice casserole. It was SO GOOD!

Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

Here’s the recipe for the chili rice casserole…I got the idea from about.com but made a bunch of changes to make it egg-free and work with what I had in the pantry. We loved how it turned out!

Chili Rice Casserole

1 1/2 c cooked brown rice (I used instant…while it was cooking I measured everything else out so it was ready to go)

3/4 c sour cream

1/4 c milk

1/2 c rotel/tomatoes with green chilies, undrained (This was a little more than half a can…I drained the rest and threw it in with my zucchini and squash for the easy calabacitas!)

1 c shredded monterey jack cheese (Plus more for topping…I used a combo of MJ and cheddar for the topping)

Throw all ingredients in a bowl.

Chili Rice Casserole

Stir it up. (This is another one of those recipes you need to be careful not to wear yourself out while making.) 😉

Chili Rice Casserole

Pour into an 8×8 baking dish and top with cheese.

Chili Rice Casserole

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Enjoy!

Chili Rice Casserole

I sure hope you all have enjoyed Crock-tober as much as I have! This isn’t the end of my crock pot recipes so stay tuned for more in the upcoming months. I even have one that will help make Thanksgiving dinner easier at your house this year (and no, it’s not the turkey…though a turkey breast in the crock pot is AMAZING!) Come on back for more anytime!

4 thoughts on “Crock-tober: Slow Cooked Salsa Chicken

  1. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: Top 8 Allergen Free Chicken Nuggets | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

