Chocolate Talk

20131019_140921

Last Saturday I spent some time at the Tower Grove Farmers’ Market. One of the highlights was picking up some chocolate from one of my favorite St. Louis candy companies. I purchased 4 treats at the Kakao tent. As an avid chocolate enthusiast, I’m excited to share my discoveries with you! I asked my family to contribute their input, too.

Here’s you your St. Louis Chocoholics Starting Line-up!

Mandy: You know plenty about me already. 🙂 I love chocolate. It is my Achilles’ heel. I can pass up sugar cookies, fruit pies, cobblers, and glazed donuts. But put a drop of chocolate on it and I’m drooling!

Gee Gee: (pronounced with a hard “g” like in geek minus the k) My mom. She’s the reason I love chocolate. It was nature and nurture. I love that even though I’m in my mid-thirties she still gives me an Easter basket every year with an artisan dark chocolate rabbit. She also made sure I had a  chocolate layer cake with 34 sugar pumpkins on it for my birthday. Instilled in my heart forever is Chocolate=Love!

The Bear: My 3 year-old son. He has also inherited our chocolate addiction. I had to hid the chocolate chips from him when he was 2 because he would dump them on the floor and eat himself sick.

Daddysaurus: My husband. He says he doesn’t really like chocolate. I married him because that meant I never had to worry about him eating my last Kit Kat or chocolate chip cookie.

Batter up! (Can you tell I’ve got the World Series on?) Here are our reviews and 5 star ratings.

Extra Dark Chocolate with Sea Salt Bark

20131019_103743

Mandy: I love how many places on your tongue you can taste this. It begins with a bittersweet taste from the dark chocolate and then the saltiness gently glides across your palate. It’s an experience.

Gee Gee: It’s very rich.

The Bear: Good. It tastes like chocolate milk.

Daddysaurus: Velvety smooth with pangs of salty sensation.

Disclaimer: This was the Bear's first experience with any type of rating scale. Also, he's 3 and had no idea what we were talking about...at first. I think he eventually started to get it.

Disclaimer: This was the Bear’s first experience with any type of rating scale and he had no idea what we were talking about.

Autumn Bark with Missouri Pecans and Fall Spices

20131019_141010

Mandy:  What a magical combination! It’s like fall and chocolate got married and lived happily ever after.  The fall spices are very prevalent. Like pumpkin lattes, this is a great seasonal treat. Once a year, this combo of flavors is a must.

Gee Gee: It tastes like cinnamon and nuts. I’m not a big fan of chocolate and cinnamon.

The Bear: It’s sweet.

Daddysaurus: All I can say is Legends of the Fall! (He gave this 3.75 stars in case you couldn’t tell by my attempt to demonstrate that below.)

Once again, I'm pretty sure The Bear's number did not accurately depict his feelings. :-)

Once again, I’m pretty sure The Bear’s number did not accurately depict his feelings. 🙂

Dark Chocolate Coffee Bark

20131019_140927

Mandy: Another out of the park combo! I love that the coffee flavor is present, but not overwhelming.  Most dark chocolate satisfies me after a few bites, but I could just keep eating this.

Gee Gee: I like the coffee flavor. It’s just enough. I could eat a lot of it.

The Bear: (he took one nibble and handed it back to me- a first!) I don’t like it. It tastes like the opposite of big. 🙂

Daddysaurus: Solidly chocolate with a hint of coffee.

coffee

Peanut Butter Marshmallow Pie

Photo from Kakao's Facebook page. It shows the layers better than the picture I took.

Photo from Kakao’s Facebook page. It shows the layers better than the picture I took.

Mandy: Something different! This was unique mixture of flavors and textures. One bite was enough for me- it was incredibly rich!

Gee Gee: It was just a hint of peanut butter which is good for me. Usually I only like peanut butter if it is with jelly on a sandwich, but this was just a little taste. The texture was also really good.

The Bear: Yummy! It tastes like good. (He gave it a 10 out of 5!)

Daddysaurus: It’s like a s’more without the awesome.

pie

The first time I tried Kakao chocolate, I was at the Tomato Festival (circa 2007) at Iron Barley.  My then boyfriend/now husband purchased some chocolate truffles made with sun-dried tomato and basil. I was pretty skeptical of chocolate and anything that I would put on a salad, but it was delightfully delicious. The sea salt caramels also blew my mind.  After that, I was hooked. I signed up for their mailing list and was so excited to learn that a storefront was opening on Jefferson, very close to my neighborhood. We often stopped in and loved chatting chocolate with the friendly and knowledgeable staff. I must confess I’ve never been to the Maplewood location, but an artist I used to work with designs the display windows. We’re Facebook friends so I always feel like I’m window shopping for sweets!

Anyone else a Kakao fan? Any recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Talk

  1. No surprises there. I especially liked “the Bear’s” take on the different flavors. He has a talent for this type of experiment. Pa

Leave a Reply

