Maple Pumpkin Butter

Back in September I started hunting down apple butter recipes so I could try a new one (I LOVE apple butter) but never quite got around to making any because I came across a recipe for pumpkin butter.  Yes, pumpkin butter.  It sounded so delicious but the first one I found really just got me thinking about how I could make it even better.  So I started googling until I had a list of ingredients from dozens of pumpkin butter recipes that sounded yummy…but there was no way all those ingredients together were going to make a good batch.  And after spending so much time on the interwebs hunting down the perfect ingredients, I wasn’t about to spend all afternoon hanging out by the stove or the oven while this cooked.  I wanted low fuss.  I wanted to make it in my crock pot…so I did!  Here’s what I ended up using and my oh my…was it good!

Maple Pumpkin Butter

15 oz. can pumpkin puree

1/2 c. brown sugar

1/3 c. maple syrup

1/3 c. apple cider

2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (I had a whole list of spices…cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, etc…and decided to keep it easy with the all-purpose pumpkin pie spice.)

Crock Pot Maple Pumpkin Butter

Pour all ingredients into the crock pot and stir to combine (I let Buddy help me do this part.) Cook on low for 6 hours.  If you’re around while it’s cooking, give it a stir once or twice.  If you’re not home, it should be just fine without the stirring.

Your house will smell heavenly and your tastebuds will surely thank you for spending just two minutes getting this all started in the crock pot.  It’s really that easy.  Really!  Serve on toast, homemade bread (my favorite), on pancakes, or top baked or roasted sweet potatoes with it.  It is really versatile and a perfect fall treat!  You could even can it and give it as a gift!

What do you like to top with pumpkin butter??

2 thoughts on “Maple Pumpkin Butter

  1. Pingback: Best Ever Pumpkin Bread | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

