Crock-tober: Slow Cooker German-Style Beef Short Ribs

Comfort food. There is nothing better on a rainy, cool, autumn day than coming home to a house that smells of short ribs in the crock pot and knowing you have every intention of whipping up some dreamy, creamy risotto to go with it (I, of course, make PW’s risotto…with the only change being that I omit the chives…because I forgot to buy the chives. Le sigh.) Now I did flake out for a minute and forgot a veggie but I’ll let that one slide this time around. I won’t let it happen again. Promise. (I’ll try!)

This isn’t one of those quick-dump-it-in-the-crock-pot-in-the-morning-and-run-out-the-door kind of slow cooker recipes. But it’s still do-able for a weekday if you prep the night before! (Trust me, I did it this week…even during my INSANE week…and it still was fine!) I pre-mix the sauce in a ziploc baggie the night before and stick it in the fridge. Measure out my flour, salt, and pepper into a separate baggie to use to coat the beef in before browning and leave it on the counter next to the stove. Slice the onion (this is one of the ONLY recipes I actually buy an onion for…I usually can’t stand to chop an onion but I do it *fast* for this cause it just wouldn’t be the same without it) and store it in the fridge inside 2 ziploc bags (ha…I can’t handle everything stinking like onion…I’m a wuss, I know.) In the morning…aw shoot let’s just get to the recipe. 🙂

Slow Cooker German-Style Beef Short Ribs (adapted from Allrecipes.com)

For the short ribs:

2 Tbls flour

1 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper (I don’t measure my salt or pepper…just put in what I want)

2 lbs. boneless beef short ribs

2 Tbls olive oil

1 large onion, sliced

For the sauce:

1 cup dry red wine

1 cup chile sauce (I used a 12 oz. bottle)

6 Tbls packed brown sugar

6 Tbls vinegar

2 Tbls Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp chili powder

These ingredients are added at the very end (and I completely forgot to add them!  Seriously, I think this week fried my brain.  Oops.)

4 Tbls flour

1/2 c water

So, like I mentioned before, I put my flour, pepper, and salt in a bag the night before.  I mixed my sauce in a bag the night before.  I sliced my onion the night before. I even went so far as to set out a pan and tongs on the stove and get the crock pot out on the counter the night before so everything was in place & ready to go with no surprises.  In the morning, I turned the crock pot to low, dumped in the onions and half of the sauce.

Slow Cooker German Style Short Ribs

Dropped the short ribs into the bag with the flour, salt, and pepper to give them a shake, and browned them up real quick.

Slow Cooker German Style Short Ribs

Then they go in the crock pot with the other half of the sauce on top.

Slow Cooker German Style Short Ribs

Eight hours later, remove the short ribs from the crock pot and add to the sauce a mixture of 4 Tbls flour and 1/2 cup water..  Turn crock pot up to high and let sauce cook for about 10 minutes, covered.  (Remember I forgot to do this…it was still delicious, the sauce just wasn’t very thick.)

Slow Cooker German Style Short Ribs

These were so tender and so delicious, I can’t wait to have them again!  Anybody have any other great ways to prepare short ribs??

And happy birthday to my favorite co-blogger and dear friend, Mandy!  Hope you have had a very special day my friend! 🙂

One thought on “Crock-tober: Slow Cooker German-Style Beef Short Ribs

  1. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

