Low Sodium Taco Seasoning

One day while grocery shopping with my husband (before we had kids), I went to purchase a packet of taco seasoning for a Taco Tuesday dinner. He stopped me in my tracks and told me we could make it at home.? What?! I’d always got the packet and poured it’s kind of orange contents into my ground beef to get that yummy taco taste. I wasn’t convinced this was going to work, but I went along with it and he was right! Then a few years later when we went on a low sodium plan, we modified it to keep the salt minimum and the taste maximum.

taco seasoning

All you need is a teaspoon, an empty jar, and a few spices. Mix them together and you’re set!

3 tsp. chili powder

2 tsp. paprika

3 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper

My husband adds hickory smoke when he makes it (it’s the Southern in him!). I love to eat tacos with macaroni.

How do you spice up Taco Night?

4 thoughts on “Low Sodium Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: Top 8 Allergen Free Mexi Meatloaf (take 1) | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: PW’s Pico de Gallo a la Daddysaurus | Gaining Mommymentum

  3. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken Tacos | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

