Crock-tober: Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

Oh. Em. Gee.

Pulled pork. THIS pulled pork. Seriously, so good. My son, who is not usually a huge fan of pork (unless we are at Nana’s house…then he goes to town. I must find out her secret to a good pork roast.) stood next to me in the kitchen while I shredded the pork shoulder and begged me to give him more and more of it, like a little baby bird. It was hilarious. I used it as an opportunity to work on his manners. “What nice words can you use if you want Mommy to give you more pork?” Ha. Kid hardly ate any dinner at the table that day cause his tummy was still so full from everything I “snuck” to him. And this was before I even got the sauce on it. It’s seriously that good. I might even make it sans sauce some day and just go for it straight up…maybe…

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork (I found this recipe from Nikki at Chef in Training who gives credit to Jilliee at One Good Thing…and now you can find it here too!)

2 lbs pork (I like pork shoulder, Nikki says pork roast, Jilliee says pork butt is best…so the real question is: What’s on sale this week?) 😉

2 cans regular coke (I used one diet and one regular…I’m a rebel like that.)

1 1/2 c brown sugar, divided (1/2 c. for marinade & 1 c. for sauce)

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/4 c water

1-4oz can diced green chilies (I like mild)

1-10oz can enchilada sauce (I found a 14oz can, made two of these recipes for my freezer, and used half the can in each…so I only had 7oz of sauce in mine…full disclosure.)

If you’re throwing this together as a freezer meal, go ahead and label your freezer bags before you get started. I used the gallon-size for my pork and marinade and the quart-size for the sauce. Even if you’re not freezing, labeling the bag with the recipe is handy the next day cause this bad boy is best when marinated over night.

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

I like to write the directions on the bag so I don’t have to look up the recipe every time but at least make sure you label the bags so you remember what you have hanging out in your freezer. 😉

Next, stick the pork in the bag (you’ll see pork chops in this next picture…I know I said pork shoulder but I forgot to take a picture of the pork shoulder in the bag and I’m getting ready to try it with chops next week. I’ll let you know how it goes!) Anywho…so pork goes in the bag along with 1 can of coke and 1/2 c brown sugar. Seal the bag and smoosh to combine. In sauce bag you need 1/2 of a can coke (This is why I made 2 at once…I don’t drink soda & didn’t want to waste 1/2 a can of coke. Silly to worry about wasting half a can of coke? Maybe. But now I have another dinner in my freezer so who’s the silly one now, huh?) the can of chilies, enchilada sauce, and the other cup of brown sugar. Seal and smoosh to combine.

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

Lay flat in the freezer until frozen then you can stand em up so they take up very little space!

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

Ready to cook? Discard marinade and place pork in the crock pot. If you froze your pork, make sure you defrost in the fridge long enough that you can discard the marinade. 12-24 hours should be enough. Once your pork is in the crock pot, add the other 1/2 can of coke, water, and garlic salt (sprinkle over pork.) Cook on low 6-8 hours or high for about 4 hours if you’re in a hurry. I prefer to go low and slow.

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

There’s that pork shoulder! I left it tied up during cooking and just cut it off afterwards. Not very appetizing yet, is it? How bout…..now?

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

Yep. That’s better. This is about the time Buddy came into the kitchen asking what I was cooking…let the feast begin. Shred it up with a couple forks. Oh yeah…and drain the crock pot completely at this point.

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

Whoa momma. I might not be able to wait until next week to make this again. Have I mentioned it’s good? 😉 Ok, once it’s shredded you can dump your sauce bag into the crock pot, throw the shredded pork back in, give it a little stir, and let it hang out until you are ready to eat. Just make sure to leave it long enough to warm through. The sauce is nice and sweet with just a tiny hint of spiciness from the enchilada sauce and chilies. Ah-mazing.

Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

I served it over baked potatoes the first night but it made so much we had it for 2 more nights and a lunch! The next night I reheated some and threw it on a salad. The last night we just had it on buns. It was awesome all three ways!

Are you loving Crock-tober yet? Stay tuned for next week’s tasty slow cooker recipe!

 

2 thoughts on “Crock-tober: Slow Cooker Cafe Rio Pulled Pork

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Salad | LauraLovingLife

  2. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

