Allergy Resources: Serving Up a Happy Halloween

Photo/cartoon credit: www.foodallergyfun.blogspot.com

Photo/cartoon credit: http://www.foodallergyfun.blogspot.com

I came across the Peanut Allergy Mom one day a few months ago while doing a little searching on google. She shares some interesting information on food allergies from a mother’s perspective. I definitely respect that. So when I saw she released a Peanut-Free Halloween Candy Guide, I knew I wanted to share it with all of you. But, of course, I realize that there are plenty of other allergies out there to keep in mind so I decided to break her list down even further. So here you have it…a list of 26 treats that are peanut free (Peanut Allergy Mom claims tree nut free as well but I found that the original milk chocolate Hershey bars are processed in a facility with almonds) that I have double checked for the other members of the top 8 allergens (some in person–no link provided–but mostly online–link provided–so please double check your packaging every time you shop). You will find each candy and the allergens it contains below.

***AS ALWAYS you should ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS double (and triple) check packaging as ingredients and manufacturing policies can change at any time and without warning.***

Altoids Mints (original, cinnamon, no chocolate)–free of all 8 major allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, dairy, fish, shellfish, and wheat)

Dum Dum Lollipops–free from all 8 major allergens

Haribo Gummi Candies–These products look to be allergen free with the following exceptions: Sour S’ghetti, Fruity Pasta, and Red & Black Licorice Wheels contain wheat flour. Strawberries and Cream Candies contain milk.

Hershey (plain milk chocolate bars)–manufactured in a facility with almonds, contains milk and soy lecithin*

Hershey Milk Chocolate Kisses–contain milk and soy lecithin*

Jolly Rancher Hard Candy–free from all 8 major allergens

Junior Mints–no ingredient list online but does state that it is “nut free, gluten free, and peanut free.”

Laffy Taffy–contains soy lecithin*

Life Savers Big Gummies (5 Flavor and Sour Flavor)–free from all 8 major allergens

Mike and Ikes–Do not provide ingredient or allergen information online. They do have an allergen statement in their FAQs but there is no specific information. View their allergen statement here and please check packaging carefully.

Now & Laters–contains egg and soy lecithin*

Peeps Ghosts–may contain milk

Red Vines–contains wheat

Rolos–contains milk and soy lecithin*

Runts–contains egg, manufactured in a facility with wheat.

Skittles–free from all 8 major allergens

Smarties–free from all 8 major allergens

Sour Patch Kids–free from all 8 major allergens

Starburst (original and tropical)–free from all 8 major allergens

Swedish Fish–free from all 8 major allergens

Sweetarts–manufactured in a facility with wheat and egg

Tootsie pops (I found the minis in the store)–contains milk and soy lecithin*

Tootsie Rolls–contains milk and soy (no full ingredient list online…check packaging carefully)

Twizzlers (strawberry and rainbow)–contains wheat

Whoppers–contains milk and soy lecithin*

Nerds–I saw one package that said processed in a facility which also manufactures goods with wheat and egg and a different package that only claimed “may contain egg.” This is concerning. Another reminder to check packaging carefully EVERY TIME you buy!

Nerds Spooky Rope–may contain eggs

York Peppermint Patties–contains milk, soy lecithin*, and egg

BUT WAIT!! There’s more…I then went and spent what seemed like an entire day in the Halloween candy aisle in Target reading labels and found a bunch more options for my friends with food allergies. Listed below you’ll find additional candies and their allergens:

Pop rocks pumpkin patch orange–contains milk

Starburst Candy Corn–free from all 8 major allergens

Bottle Caps–manufactured in a facility with wheat and egg

Gobstoppers–may contain egg

Milk Duds–contains milk and soy lecithin*

Twizzlers Pull ‘n’ Peel–contains wheat

Hubba Bubba Bubble Gum–contains soy lecithin*

Air Heads–manufactured in a facility with wheat

Charms Blow Pops–may contain milk and soy

Jolly Rancher Lollipops–contains soy lecithin*

Jolly Rancher Fruit Chews (original and tropical)–contains soy lecithin*

Tootsie Caramel Apple Pops–contains milk and soy lecithin*

*Soy Lecithin is typically considered safe for individuals with soy allergies. It is exempt from labeling laws as being claimed as a soy allergen. If you have a soy allergy, consult your doctor to find out whether soy lecithin is safe for you to consume.

***Again, PLEASE check labels EVERY time you shop.*** I cannot stress how important this is.

Hope this candy guide is helpful for you! Have a Safe and Happy Halloween!

Advertisements