Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

I love a hot breakfast.  Know what I love more than a hot breakfast?  A hot breakfast that involves pumpkin…and apple cider.  Holy schmoley bring on fall flavors!  Literally, after one bite of this breakfast my husband proclaimed “This tastes like fall!”  I will make it again and again and again…and again.  And then maybe one more time.  With bacon.  Drool.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup (adapted from Allrecipes.com)

Waffles:

1 1/4 c flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp salt

2 Tbls packed brown sugar

1/2 c pumpkin

1c milk

1 Tbls Ener-G egg replacer mixed with 4 Tbls warm water (or 2 eggs if egg allergies are not a concern)

2 Tbls butter, melted

Combine all ingredients and spoon 3 heaping spoonfuls (this is really scientific folks) onto your waffle maker.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

Close waffle maker and cook through.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

I seriously think orange is my new favorite color  Look how good that looks!!  Easy peasy, no?  Trust me, the syrup is easy too! (And actually, I make the syrup first and allow it to cool just a touch on the stove while I make the waffles…it’s all about time management!)

Syrup:

1/2 c sugar

1 Tbls cornstarch

1 tsp cinnamon

1 c apple cider

1 Tbls lemon juice (approx the juice of 1/2 lemon)

2 Tbls. butter

Combine sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, apple cider, and lemon juice in a pot over medium heat.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

Bring to a boil and whisk frequently for several minutes, until thickened.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

Add butter and stir until it melts.  Allow to cool slightly before serving but serve warm.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

Oh my goodness…these waffles with this syrup….friends, trust me, this is THE way to start out your weekend.  Or your Monday.  Whatever floats your boat.

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

Om nom nom!  Yep, I went there.  I will warn you, the syrup can overpower the pumpkin flavor if you get carried away when pouring it on.  Moderation is the key.  When you get the ratio just right, you get hit with the appley goodness first and there’s an amazing, slightly spiced pumpkin finish.  So. Darn. Good.  I hope you enjoy this as much as my family did!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

  1. Pingback: Best Ever Pumpkin Bread | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

