Crock-tober: Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken

I use my slow cooker all throughout the year. It’s a great way to keep from heating up your kitchen in the warmer months (say, with crock pot beer chicken perhaps??) but mine seems to get the most use from October-March/April. So, over the next several weeks, I’ll be sharing some delicious recipes for your crock pot every Saturday morning. That’s right folks, pumpkin on Mondays, crock pot recipes on Saturdays…and Mandy will keep sharing some of her delicious recipes in the middle! It’s gonna be a great month. πŸ™‚

One of my favorite ways to use my crock pot is to prep the meals ahead of time and stick them in the freezer in a freezer-safe ziplock bag, then pop them in the fridge the night before I want to eat them to thaw just a touch (or, when I forget to take it out the night before I just run the bag under water for a minute so the food will slide out of the bag), then throw them in the crock pot in the morning and forget about it until dinner time. Doesn’t get much easier than that. And when I prep freezer meals, I typically make several at a time so my freezer stays nice and stocked with easy meals that I made myself. This one is especially easy. πŸ™‚

Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken (adapted from Chef in Training)

1-1.5lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 c honey

1/4 c soy sauce

1 Tbls. dried minced onion

1 Tbls. canola oil

1/2 tsp minced garlic

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (this has just the slightest kick…not super spicy at all)

2 tsp. cornstarch dissolved in 6 Tbls water (when I made it the first time I messed up and used 4 Tbls cornstarch and it was still fine, the sauce was just a little thicker…oops!)

Sesame seeds (I omitted)

Place chicken breasts, honey, soy sauce, onion, oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes into a gallon-sized freezer-safe ziplock bag. Seal and “smush” the bag until all ingredients are well combined. Lay flat in freezer. Once fully frozen, you can stand it up for easier storage. I often double recipes and make two at once cause it’s easy to do and then I have more meals on stand-by.

Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken3

If you look closely, you’ll see I’ve written cooking instructions right on my ziplock bag. This way, I don’t have to look them up later. At the very least, be sure to write what it is on the outside so you don’t end up with a bunch of “mystery dinners.” πŸ™‚

As I mentioned earlier, move the meal to the fridge the night before if you can remember or run it under water to loosen the contents from the side of the bag. Dump contents into slow cooker and set on low. Forget about it for 6 hours. At this point, transfer chicken to a cutting board, leaving all of the marinade/juices in the slow cooker. This is when you’ll add the cornstarch and water mixture to the slow cooker and crank that baby on high. Put the lid back on to help it heat up faster. While your sauce is thickening, chop up the chicken into bite sized pieces. Mine is usually so tender that it won’t chop very neatly but ends up half chopped, half shredded…100% delicious. Put chicken back in the slow cooker, stir to coat chicken with sauce, and let it all hang out in there another 30 minutes or so while the sauce continues to thicken. (Use this time to whip up a veggie and some rice to serve with it!)

Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken

Oooo this was such a delicious dinner! I am so glad I made a second one so we can have this again soon!!

4 thoughts on “Crock-tober: Slow Cooker Honey Sesame Chicken

  1. Pingback: Semi-Annual Crock Pot Round-Up | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Pingback: Top 8 Allergen Free Chicken Nuggets | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

