Food Trick: Make Your Lettuce Last Longer

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times: I like taking shortcuts when cooking to save time AS LONG AS IT DOESN’T AFFECT QUALITY! Case in point: pre-washed, pre-chopped, bagged lettuce and pre-washed, bagged spinach. Love the convenience. Hate how fast it gets funky once you’ve opened a bag. *sigh* I started storing bagged lettuce and spinach in tupperware a few years ago rather than just rolling down the top of the opened bag and securing with a chip clip and that helped lengthen the life by a couple hours (at best) but I was getting frustrated with how much lettuce, especially spinach since it usually comes in such a big bag, I was still throwing out.

Vinegar couldn’t save me this time, as moisture seemed to be the problem. Then one day I was reading a post by Ree Drummond (The Pioneer Woman, or PW–that’s P-dub–as I usually refer to her) about her delicious chicken taco salad and my jaw about hit the floor. Duh! Throw a paper towel in with the lettuce or spinach to absorb the moisture! Bingo! Where had this been all my life?! (Ok so I’ve only been eating salads for about 5 years–I used to be a super picky eater remember??) Still. This is epic. No longer do I have to eat a gargantuan spinach salad every. single. day. several days in a row to take down the mighty bag of pre-washed spinach that I got on sale for $1…which means I probably got over-ambitious and bought 2. Yikes.

Change the paper towel once it’s damp and you should be able to stretch your greens a few extra days! That’s cash back in your pocket friend. You’re welcome.

My spinach-lovin’ soul is at peace.

Do you have any quick kitchen tricks you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

