Enchilada Soup

I discovered this recipe in a cookbook in my mother-in-law’s kitchen. I’ve made it many times and have made several modifications each time I’ve made it to try to improve the healthiness and reduce the sodium while not sacrificing the taste. It’s also very easy to make and freezes wonderfully. A pot of this will make us at least 4-5 dinners and a few individual lunches. You could also prepare it and put it in a crock pot to serve at a pot luck or family gathering.

Enchilada Soup

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup low sodium chicken bullion powder

3 cups diced yellow onions

2 tbsp. cumin

2 tbsp. chili powder

2 tbsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. cayenne powder (this can be left out or reduced if your family prefers more mild flavors)

2 c. Masa Harina (a traditional Mexican flour)

4 quarts water

1 large can crushed tomatoes

1 jar Picante sauce

2 cups reduced fat Mexican blend cheese

3 lbs. chicken breast, cooked and shredded

Tortilla chips

1. In a LARGE pot (I use a 12 quart stock pot), add the oil, bouillon powder, onions, cumin, chili powder, garlic, and cayenne powder. Sauté the onions for about 5 minutes, until soft.

onions edit

2. In a large bowl, mix the Masa Harina with quart cup of water until the lumps are dissolved. Add to the onions and bring to a boil. Stir constantly and continue cooking for 3-4 minutes.

I found this at Wal-Mart (in the pie filling section!). I've used a few different brands- never  noticed a difference in taste.

I found this at Wal-Mart (in the pie filling section!). I’ve used a few different brands- never noticed a difference in taste.

3. Add the remaining 3 quarts of water, can of tomatoes, and Picante sauce to the pot.  Return to a boil and stir occasionally. Add the cheese and stir until it melts. Add the chicken. Cook for 5-10 more minutes.  Serve and garnish with tortilla chips. (My son likes to dip baked Scoops in it.) Freeze your leftovers for dinner next week!

soup edit

A little side note:

Here is the reduced sodium bouillon I found. I add about 5-8 cubes when I can’t find powder. Because we have hypertension considerations in our family, I attempt to use lower sodium ingredients when I can find them for most of our meals.

reduced sodium

Do you have any low sodium suggestions or information? I’m always on the lookout!

8 thoughts on “Enchilada Soup

    • Courtney- I think you’d love it. You can substitute 1 cup of Velveeta for one cup of shredded Fiesta cheese and use Rotel instead of tomatoes- reminds me of your queso! Also, I need to check out the Aldi by us- I could always go for a good price on Pampers!

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning | Gaining Mommymentum

  2. Wow…all I have to say! I made the Crock Pot Beer chicken (delicious by the way). The plan was to use left overs for this soup. First, it barely fit in my 6qt pot, so I guess I have to add a 12qt pot to my Christmas List, as this soup will for sure be made again in this house!! Second, you are not joking it makes 4-5 dinners! As a side note, I added some corn along with some orange and red bell peppers. It was so yummy!! Thanks for the great suggestion!

    • Yay! Thanks Barbara. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. My husband smoked some peppers on the grill last time and I threw those in. It’s a nice touch. We are STILL eating off that batch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

