Food Allergy Resource: Cookbooks

Yesterday I had another friend tell me her child has a new food allergy.  (You know who you are and this one’s for you girl!) It breaks my heart to see so many of my friends and their children having to navigate their way through the red tape of living with food allergies.  It’s not an easy journey, but it is manageable; especially if you have the right resources.  I instantly knew I needed to get this post up to share yet another tremendous resource I utilize frequently to help Buddy and our family enjoy many of the same types of foods we enjoyed before the diagnosis.  Friends, if you or someone in your family is living with food allergies I must recommend that you check out these cookbooks by Cybele Pascal .  Pascal currently has three allergy-friendly cookbooks (and an amazing blog…and a line of allergen free cookies…yumm!) She lives and cooks with multiple food allergies in her own home and has created hundreds of recipes and tricks (that you can apply to any recipe!) for successful, delicious cooking while avoiding the eight most common food allergens (wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and shellfish.)

I own two of these cookbooks: Allergy Free and Easy Cooking: 30 minute meals without gluten, wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, and sesame (gluten and sesame are not *technically* part of the “top 8 allergens” but they are becoming more common and are a great addition to this cookbook for so many) and The Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook: How to bake without gluten, wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, and sesame (Wait where did fish and shellfish go?! Welp…can’t say that I’ve seen many baking recipes with those ingredients…nor have I seen baked goods with those items in the allergen warnings.) 

Food Allergy Resources

I use the first cookbook on occasion as a reference and, of course, for the delicious recipes!  It really comes in handy when I am cooking for Buddy and another friend or family member with different allergies than he has.  I get so used to cooking for his specific allergies that it’s sometimes difficult to think about adding another set of allergens to the mix.  The baking cookbook I use ALL THE TIME!  It is so helpful…especially for the egg allergy!  I have had so many baking flops since we discovered Buddy’s allergies and it was FRUSTRATING!  It took me several tries to make a chocolate birthday cake for him back in July that didn’t crumble to pieces.  This cookbook saved me.  Don’t be frustrated like I was…just get the cookbook.  (Her chocolate chip cookie recipe is DIVINE!)

I have yet to try her cookies but only because I keep forgetting to look for them when I’m at Whole Foods!  (Pretty sure they would be the only local retailer here in St. Louis that carries them but I could be mistaken.)  Buddy loves cookies and while I love to bake them (and he now insists on helping me cook and bake when he sees me getting ingredients and bowls/mixers out…ha!) it’s really nice to know there is a definite safe line out there that we could share with just about anyone!

Would love to hear from all our readers who live with food allergies in some form or another…what resources would you not be able to live without?

One thought on “Food Allergy Resource: Cookbooks

  1. Pingback: PW’s Chicken Taco Salad | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

