6 Week Stories: Fairy Tale Wedding Shower Part 4

The Cake

My sister-in-law-to-be has chosen a beautiful blush wedding dress. So when I saw a Pin for a wedding dress pull-apart cupcake cake, I thought all it needed was a little red food coloring and I’d have my cake! My first challenge was going to be icing the cupcakes. I’d never used a decorating tip or a bag. I watched a couple tutorials– it didn’t look too hard. I found a cake decorating kit, not really paying much attention to tip size. I made these practice cupcakes.

20130530_203645 2

Turns out that tip thing is pretty important. The size I used was WAY too small. I’ve learned in life that practice doesn’t always make perfect, but it does prevent you from freaking out 2 hours before an event when you realize you have no clue what you are doing. But I digress. I bought the recommended size (1M) and it did the trick.

20130608_131711 3The day before the shower I baked my cupcakes. Then I set them up on my tray to see if I could actually pull this off. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought. This is probably the most important part of this cake: Put a little dot of icing on the bottom of each cupcake (on the wrapper). When you are transporting the cake it will prevent the cupcakes from sliding around.

Once the cupcakes were secure I prepared my icing. I used Wilton’s Decorator Icing. I know it’s not that hard to make my own icing, but I was going for quick and easy. I put the icing in my mixer and slowly started to add the red food coloring. I wanted a light shade of pink. I also only wanted to mix the color once so I wouldn’t have 2 different shades of pink so I used quite a bit of icing. Then I just went to town with the decorator bag. The nice thing about this cake was that each cupcake didn’t have to be perfect to get the look I wanted.

I accented the cake with some pearl strands and some bling to give it the bride’s signature style. And the really sweet part is my little Baybay (who is the flower girl) gets to wear the bling on her dress during the wedding!

20130608_141237 2

Stay tuned for “Fairy Tale Wedding Shower Part 5” to see the finished chair and poster from parts 1 and 2 PLUS a fun shower game!

4 thoughts on “6 Week Stories: Fairy Tale Wedding Shower Part 4

  1. Pingback: Cupcake | Nabilah

  2. Pingback: 6 Week Stories: 5 Easy Birthday Cakes | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

