DIY: Inside-Out Painted Wine Bottle

Hello, my name is Lauren and I’m addicted to Pinterest. (This is the part where you say “Hi, Lauren!”) Unfortunately what that means is that for the past 18 months I have been pinning thousands of projects, tricks, recipes, clothes, paint colors, exercises (ha…like that’s ever gonna happen), and who knows what else but very little of it ever makes it to the execution stage.  As we prepared to move into our new home at the end of June, I giddily (did I just make up a word?) stared at my various Pinterest boards and couldn’t wait to get started on all the home improvement projects I had lined up.  Ask me how many have gotten done so far…yep, none.  Of course they all take time…and money…and for any of you who have ever moved and understand how expensive that whole process is (I mean really, $150 for a 7 minute gas inspection?! What a bunch of racket.) you know it will be weeks or months before I even really get started and years…or even decades (I swear I’m never moving again)…until I’m “finished.”  Good thing we have declared this our “long-term” home.  Please feel free to remind me of this when I say I want to move in a few years.  But I digress.

In the weeks leading up to the move, I decided to take a little time out from packing boxes to whip up a quick little DIY for our new mantle.  I cannot tell you how excited I am to have a fireplace with a mantle at our new house!  We haven’t ever had a fireplace (at least not since we each lived with our parents…) and I really miss cozying up next to a fire in the winter.  Not to mention all the decorating potential a mantle offers!  And somewhere to hang Christmas stockings! Finally!  (It’s the little things.)  I found this little project, where else, on Pinterest months ago, took a little glance, and thought “yeah, I can do that.”  Did I read the directions? Nope.  Mostly because they are in Spanish and my Espanol es muy limitado. (Let’s just say I haven’t taken Spanish since my sophomore year of college and that was more than a decade ago.) But the pictures were enough to give me the general idea so allow me to “translate” this crafty (and cheap!) wine bottle makeover for you.

First, you’re gonna need a clear glass bottle.  Tinted glass (green or brown) might work but since we’re painting the inside it will obviously affect the final color so I would recommend sticking with something clear.  My bottle of choice is from a bottle of rose I found at Trader Joe’s.

Rose from Trade Joe'sI got super lucky with this bottle.  I picked it because it had a pretty shape (and lucked out when I discovered the wine inside was pretty tasty too!) and was thrilled to find out after just a minute of soaking in a sink of hot water that the labels were attached with water-based adhesive.

Soaking labels in hot waterWhat this means is that I didn’t need any special tools to get the label off besides my sink of hot water.  The main label took just a bit of picking but the back and bottom label literally floated off in the sink of water in no time at all.  My lucky day!  I was dreading breaking out the goo gone and stinking up the house trying to get those bad boys off.

Clean bottle

Let your bottle dry upright overnight to make sure all the moisture evaporates (if you try to dry it upside down it will likely collect condensation inside so do yourself a favor and just set it on the counter overnight.) Then gather your materials and get started!  For this project, I picked up one of the Valspar samples at Lowe’s in “cooled lava.” (***side note: this paint was a little tricky…you might be better off using an acrylic/craft paint instead!)  I hardly used any of the paint at all so there is plenty left over for future DIY projects!  The only other things I used were a funnel and a paper towel.  Easy right?  You can do this!

Valspar paint sample "cooled lava"Place funnel in the top of the bottle.  Depending on your funnel size you may need to hold it on.  Mine seemed to be just the right size to let it balance on its own…next time I might not be so lucky.  Proceed with caution so you don’t end up painting your countertops (though, as you can see, the countertops at our old house left a LOT to be desired so it wouldn’t have been the end of the world to paint them but I’ll leave that up to the new owner.) Pour some paint through the funnel into the bottle.  Start out with just a little.  Less is more at this point.

Adding paint

Then slowly swirl the paint around in the bottle allowing it to coat the sides completely, adding more paint as needed.

Paint swirl 1

Keep going…

Paint swirl 2

And going…

Paint swirl 3

It’s kinda like the energizer bunny…but not…nevermind.

Paint swirl 4

When you get to the end you will really understand why “less is more.”  If there’s too much paint in the bottle at the end it’s harder to keep it tidy at the top.  Not that you couldn’t wipe excess or drips with a paper towel…I’m just a little too Type-A for that and needed it to be perfect on the first shot.

Finished bottle

Ta-da!  Ain’t she a beauty?!  I am so in love with how this turned out!  I have another bottle and paint sample in “steel” (a lighter grey) that I can’t wait to make.  This whole project only took about 10-15 minutes (not counting bottle drying time overnight) and it looks really professional because of the super smooth, consistent look from “painting” the inside.

Done any super fast, super easy DIYs around your house lately?  Or perhaps you are more like me and have so many pinned you don’t know where to start. 😉 What’s on your craftly DIY short-list as summer draws to a close?

21 thoughts on “DIY: Inside-Out Painted Wine Bottle

  1. I signed up for the craft fair at my son’s school and my assignment was to paint the inside of 45 wine bottles – I’m SOOO happy I found your post!! Thank you!!!

  2. Hi! Ive done the same thing however I am running into a problem! I painted the bottle-made sure all parts were coated, let dry upside down for 24 hrs, brought it inside and set next to my stove countertop for several days. Looked great was so happy, then by a week I pick it up and a large part of the paint is missing! Nothing at the bottom of the bottle to where it could have sloughed off- it kinda looks like it evaporated bc it has no paint at all in the center but towards the edges it kind of fades back to the paint color. I repainted the bottle made sure i didnt move at all for more than 24 hours and sure enough it disappeared again! -a smaller size but still large. What could it be??? Thank you for your help!

  3. I did not realize you wrote me back until someone else posted! Thank you for the reply but The bottle was completely dry both times I tried to do it; and they were pre-washed through the dish washer… they dried for more than 2 weeks before I tried painting them. I was using Anita’s All purpose Acrylic Craft Paint. …. After it disappeared the second time; i took vinegar and put it inside the bottle, got all the paint off. then poured 99% rubbing alcohol in it, poured it out let it dry for couple weeks again; and I just now painted the bottles again; I am hoping it works this time.

  4. Have been trying to get even coating from the inside but the paint won’t dry and drips off without giving proper coverage. Now I have done the painting again to get a thicker coat and kept my bottle outside in the sun to dry. I keep rotating it after every 15 minutes or so but it sure doesn’t look anything nearer to what people post online. The coating is still transparent and the paint is does not dry. I am using a normal house paint used for painting wood, metal surfaces etc.

    • Try using paint that is used for Glass; I was having the same trouble, tried house paint, making my own chalk paint, craft paint, craft paint with modge podge dishwasher safe glue– and all had problems- streaking, cracking, sloughing off… But the only one that worked is using Americana Decor Chalky Finish – it states it can even be used on glass. And it is holding up pretty well; however only difficult thing is, its very thick. So it does not easily cover the bottle- so I took a long bendable paint brush after coating what i could, and carefully painted the inside the rest of the way. Also rotating it may make it slough, just leave it upside down to drip dry- I used a small box, cut a hole in the bottom put it up side down so the bottle is suspended in the air so it can drip dry just wiping the bottle every so often for the first hour or so, so it does not form big glops of paint.

  5. I was using a very light pink colour so it was initially only tinting the bottle and not giving a thick even coating. I had to dry my paint the first time and then add some more. Did this thrice and it worked! The bottle is evenly painted in light pink and looks beautiful. House paint is okay for the project.

Leave a Reply

