Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

I dunno about you but when the outside temperatures heat up, I find my taste buds craving a little heat as well. I do enjoy a good spicy dish but when it comes to Mexican food (let’s be honest…my “Mexican” food is a much more Americanized version) I tend to like to keep things relatively mild. Enchiladas are hardly the exception to this rule and this super cheesy version is my absolute favorite! The recipe includes making your own enchilada sauce from scratch, which is a piece of tortilla (see what I did there?) but takes a little extra time.  If you’re in a rush, you can substitute your favorite ready-made enchilada sauce. One thing I find from (most) store-bought enchilada sauces is that they pack a little more heat than I care for, especially with a toddler in the house, so 95% of the time I make my own. Speaking of Buddy, there’s also the food allergy issue to keep in mind when purchasing any pre-made sauces anything, so keep that in mind if anyone you are cooking for has food allergies. If you are making your sauce from scratch, do yourself a favor…make a double batch! These enchiladas freeze really well so why not make an extra 9×13 and pop it in the freezer?  You will thank yourself later when you have an upcoming crazy week and remember that you can cross one dinner off your list by bringing that casserole back to life.

Without further ado…I give you my very favorite cheesy chicken enchilada recipe!

Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

(makes about 12 enchiladas)

4 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1 bunch green onion, chopped
1/2 stick margarine or butter (1/4 cup)
1 garlic clove, minced
1–16oz can tomato sauce (I actually used 2…it’s a little dry with just one)
1–4oz. can chopped green chiles
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. basil
1/2 tsp. oregano
2 c. shredded montery jack
2 c. shredded cheddar
1 pint (16 oz.) sour cream
12 tortillas

Saute onions, butter and garlic. Add tomato sauce, chiles, sugar, cumin, salt, basil, and oregano…simmer 15 minutes. Mix two cheeses in a bowl. Mix chicken with just enough sour cream to moisten (save the rest). Dip each tortilla into hot tomato sauce, add chicken mixture, add cheese, roll up. Mix leftover sauce with leftover sour cream and pour over top of casserole. Sprinkle leftover cheese on top. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes. Enjoy!

First, let’s get the sauce rolling! Garlic, green onions, and butter simmering away. Piece of cake, no? (or tortilla…ok I promise I’m done with that joke now.)

enchiladas1

Then you add your tomato sauce (I like to use 2 cans), spices, salt, and sugar…ah yes, and the chilies.

enchiladas 002

Fifteen minutes of simmering will make quite a mess if you don’t have a splatter guard ready to go. Don’t have a splatter guard? Not a big deal, you just might have to do a little wiping up of your stove top afterwards or use a pot with taller sides rather than a sauce pan to help contain the mess.

enchiladas 003

Mmmmm…cheese. Hard not to eat straight out of the bowl. Save it for the enchiladas! It will be worth it, trust me on this one, k?

enchiladas 004

Next, dip your tortillas in the sauce. Careful, you have to work fast cause it’s hot, hot, hot! Or if you’re more patient than I am you can let it cool some first.

enchiladas 005

Flip it over and dip the other side too. Anybody else’s mouths watering yet? I thought so.

enchiladas 006

Oops…I forgot to take a picture of mixing the chicken and sour cream. Use your imagination…put the chicken in a bowl and mix in about 4 oz. of sour cream. Stir with a spoon. You get the idea.

Then you can put some chicken down the center of your tortilla (it’s actually easier to roll if you put it closer to one side or the other.)

enchiladas 007

Then add the cheese…feel free to be generous. I’ve never had a dish where more cheese was a bad thing and this is definitely not the exception to the rule!

enchiladas 008

Line em up in a pan…I squeezed 10 into my 9×13 pan.  Stuck the other two into a loaf pan and froze them like that for an easy (and filling!) individual dinner later down the road.

enchiladas 009

Mix remaining sour cream with remaining sauce (I ended up only using 8 oz. of sour cream total…4 oz. mixed with the chicken and 4 oz. in the sauce.) Pour sauce over enchiladas in the pan.

enchiladas 010

More cheese! See…told you more cheese is always good! Then 30-45 minutes uncovered in a 350 degree oven.

enchiladas 011

Serve it up with a some mexi-rice and refried black beans and you’re set!  When I’m in a hurry I like to nuke a steamer bag of southwest corn (corn and diced peppers and onions in a little sauce) and call it a meal.  I really hope that if you are an enchilada lover you will try this recipe. It is by far my favorite…I would probably eat them every week if I could.

Do you have a favorite recipe for a Mexican dish? I’d love to hear about it!

6 thoughts on “Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Mexican Side Dishes: Beyond Rice and Beans | Gaining Mommy-mentum

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning | Gaining Mommymentum

  3. Pingback: In a Rut? Meal Plan Monday | Gaining Mommymentum

  4. Pingback: Top 8 Allergen Free Chicken Nuggets | Gaining Mommymentum

  5. Pingback: Stocking the Food Allergy Freezer | Gaining Mommymentum

Leave a Reply

